1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

digi cam memory problem

Discussion in 'Digital Photography & Imaging' started by Ish, Sep 18, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Ish

    Ish Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    hi

    i just got myself a konica kd-20m digital camera.

    i also just got a integral 64mb sd memory card for it.

    the problem i'm having is that with the memory card in i can take pics and view them on my camera fine but when i connect the usb cable to the camera my pc just sees a blank memory card.

    when i look at the filesize of the memory card (which comes up as removavble disc h:) on my pc it is 0mb :confused:

    i have exchanged the memory card and it is still the same.

    so could the camera be faulty or is it something else? :(

    all help will be MUCH appreciated

    cheerz

    p.s when i use just the digi cams internal memory the pc sees those pics fine
     
  2. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,791
    Sounds like your not using the new memory card.
    Check your setting and make sure your using the removeable memory and the the build-in internal memory.

    Also take ot the new memory stick and see if you can still see the pictures.
     
  3. Ish

    Ish Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    it is using the sd memory card for sure because if i remove it i can't view any of the pics i have taken.

    this problem has really got me confused. i'm thinking of taking the camera back and saying it's faulty!
     
  4. Rhettman5.1

    Rhettman5.1

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,592
    I did notice when I was searching at google that there were several people having problems with konica cameras, your specific problem wasn't adressed.

    I'll look farther but how about what OS your running and any more info on the camera you can give me, I am having trouble finding that model... Rhett
     
  5. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,791
    OK but then maybe you need to tell the camera what card to upload.
     
  6. Ish

    Ish Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    it is a konica kd-20m and i use win xp http://www.konicaphoto.co.uk/db/camview.php?vc=36

    i exchanged the cam today but still have the same problem. i got one more thing to try even though it's a longshot...i'm gonna try a different brand of sd memory! i really hope that is the problem :confused:
     
  7. Ish

    Ish Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    ok another update!

    trien a different brand memory card and still tye same so it is 100% a pc problem.

    this is what happened exactly. when i have no memory card inserted and i connect the usb cable to the pc from the cam straight away the /soft picture viewer thing comes up and i can see the the pics that are on the internal memeory.

    now when i i have the memory crad inserted i connect the cam to pc usb cable and an autoplay box comes up which has a bar searching. then a blank screen comes up showing h: but no pictures :(
     
  8. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,791
    Maybe best to get another brand camera that has only removeable memory.
    I would get a 3 meg pixel or more because you get better pictures.
    There are lots to pick from and if you read other threads here in this forum you see lots of info and links.

    Remember the pictures are memories of things so the better the picture the more happy your be.
     
  9. milomorai

    milomorai

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    439
    did you load the software that came with your camera? are the files saved in a standard jpeg format? if not that is why it is not being recognized. the best solution is to get an external card reader and attach that to your pc - then your pc will see it as another removable hard drive.
    Gavi, Certified Photographic Counselor and Nikon Advanced System Specialist
     
  10. Ish

    Ish Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    the software that came with the camera was ulead photo explorer 7. it sees the pics on the internal memory fine but dosn't see the memory card at all.

    i will try it on another pc tomorrow and if that fails i will have to get a reader as that is the only thing left to try!

    thanx for all the help so far everyone (y)
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/165678

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice