1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Digital camera batteries

Discussion in 'Digital Photography & Imaging' started by RonK, Oct 2, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. RonK

RonK Thread Starter

I just bought a used HP digital camera (no manual) and the rechargeable batteries go dead real fast. I just noticed that the rechargeable AA batteries in the camera are only rated at 1.2 volts.
    They should be 1.5 volts each ??
    Do rechargeables intentionally have a reduced voltage for digital cameras ?
    I am a newbie at digital cameras so be gentle !
    Thanks
    Ron

2. Davey7549

Davey7549

Ron
    Are there any model numbers on the camera so we can check the specs on it?

Dave

3. hewee

hewee

On rechargeable batteries you need to drain them all the way to get the best charge.
    My video camera has a button on the charger that does it for you and it says to use it once every 4 charges. My dig camera tells me to adjust the times it shuts off to a longer time and then just keep turning it on and letting it run down.

4. slipe

slipe

Certain battery types yield a given voltage per cell. Most equipment can tolerate the lower voltage of NiMH and NiCad batteries. Most cameras specify NiMH as the preferred battery. All NiMH cells are 1.2v – not by design but because of the chemistry of NiMH.