1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Digital Camera Batteries

Discussion in 'Digital Photography & Imaging' started by ProgrammerGuy, Apr 20, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ProgrammerGuy

ProgrammerGuy Thread Starter

Hello Everyone,

This might seem like an obvious question to most but being that I'm new to the world of digital cameras and photography I've been wondering. I have a Kodak digital camera and the book says it uses NiMH type batteries. It also says that "it is not recommended" that you use plain old AA batteries with the camera but it doesn't say it will destroy your camera or anything like that. So what's the scoop? In a pinch, can I use a standard AA battery with my camera or will it simply kill the camera?

Thanks!
    Anthony

2. xgerryx

xgerryx

I don't think they will hurt your camera, but I have see a couple of case's where alkalines simply will not work where as NiMHs will.

If left in the camera to long, the alkalines probably are a greater threat as far as leakage is concerned.

3. uly7

uly7

Your best bet it will be to buy some rechargeable batteries, because the other batteries don't last very long.
    You may have to spend some money in the beginning, but in the long run, it's better.
    Uly7

4. Tuppence2

Tuppence2

Hello,

That's right. The AA batteries life will be very, very short. A friend of a friend used them and then wondered why every time he took a group of photos the batteries wouldn't work. If you want to save the charge on rechargeable batteries, use a smart-card reader to upload images to your computer. The camera needn't be switched on that way.

http://www.google.co.uk/search?q=smart-card+readers&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&hl=en&btnG=Google+Search&meta=