1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Digital Camera won't connect to computer

Discussion in 'Digital Photography & Imaging' started by Joycr, Apr 27, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Joycr

    Joycr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    I have a Kodak DC120 camera that has stopped
    connecting to my computer (Dell Latitude). I
    have removed and reinstalled it several times.
    My computer shows that it is installed, but shows
    the device as offline. I have made sure there
    is no conflict on COM1. I can't figure out where
    my problem is. Any suggestions?
    Your help is appreciated.
     
  2. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    The camera is turned on?
     
  3. buck52

    buck52 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2001
    Messages:
    8,373
    also ..What OS are you using and how is the camera connected USB , serial?

    Did you do anything that might have made this happen?

    buck
     
  4. Joycr

    Joycr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    The camera is turned on. It has a display that indicates
    it is connected to the compute, but the computer doesn't
    indicate it is connected. I am using Windows 2000 Professional. The camera is connected via serial port.
    There may be some kind of conflict with the port. I
    use to have to disable a Palm connection in order for
    the camera to work. Now the camera doesn't work
    even when I disable the Palm. Any suggestions?
     
  5. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    In device manager, do you see any conflicts?
     
  6. Joycr

    Joycr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Device manager does not show a conflict. I went into
    imaging devices and took the scanner offline so the
    camera is the only thing online. I shut down all programs
    that were not necessary to run and I unplugged the
    wireless network card. None of this worked. The camera
    display shows that it is trying to connect when I bring
    up the Twain acquire. From Twain acquire, when I
    hit "Get Pictures from Camera", the camera reacts
    showing that it is trying to connect to the computer.
    This seems to indicate that the computer and camera
    know that they are hooked up but are not making
    the complete connection so I can download the
    pictures. The camera is hooked up to the computer
    through a cable. Can my wireless internet system
    be causing problems?

    Thank you for your help.
     
  7. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    For a test, you can try unplugging stuff that you don't need, reboot and test the camera again.
     
  8. Joycr

    Joycr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    I did the test but the camera still doesn't connect.
     
  9. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Well, I'm wondering if the camera decided to pack it in? Can it be tested on another computer?
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/356995