1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Digital TV Question - No Signal on Several Channels

Discussion in 'Do It Yourself (Not Computer-Related)' started by cycler, Aug 3, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. cycler

    cycler Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    496
    This is related to a question that I asked a while ago and it really was never resolved because I didn't ask the right questions.

    I bought a Samsung Digital TV (TX-T2082 20") and because I don't want cable
    I use an antenna which is a signal booster. I bought the best one that they had for my purpose and it works perfectly except that there are still several channels that I'm unable to get when I'm in the the DTV mode but I am able to get them when I'm in the analog mode. They are NBC (channel 4 in NY) and all of the PBS stations.

    The channels are there, as I said, they are viewable but in the DTV mode it says "no signal". No matter where I move the antenna or how I adjust it there is no signal.

    I'm concerned now because it's getting closer to the time when there will only be the Digital signal and I'm worried that I won't be able to see those channels then.

    Before I call Samsung customer service I was wondering if anyone had any ideas why this is happening and how to fix it. I live in a big apartment building and I am on a low floor but since it's only those 4 channels I doubt that that is why.

    Also, there is a "master antenna" in the wall which I never used because the jack needs to be repaired and I was told that they didn't think that they were still being manufactured - but do you think that using that (if I'm able to get them to repair it) might solve this issue?

    Thanks!
     
  2. telecom69

    telecom69 Gone but never forgotten

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2001
    Messages:
    9,807
    I dont know where in the world you are,but here in the UK we have the same problems as you regarding the reception of digital tv ...its almost essential to have an outside roof mounted wide band ariel of the high gain type to get satisfactory reception and even then on some days,due to local conditions its possible to get low signal strength resulting in poor reception ....you mentioned that you could move your antenna,is it the motorised type? or is it an indoor one? if its indoor then its not really good enough even with a booster ....its the way things are ...maybe that wall jack would be the way to go because presumably it goes to an antenna on the roof of the building perhaps ....and even though you say you dont want cable,you get no problems that way because they do all the signal processing ....have a look at this site about antennas and for freeview read digital http://www.ukfree.tv/fullstory.php?storyid=1107051054&sid=3&subid=0
     
  3. cycler

    cycler Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    496
    I am in New York City and my antenna is indoors. I'm not sure where the master antenna connects to, or even if it's still functional since almost everyone in the building has cable.
    It's annoying that everything will be digital in a few months even though they aren't really ready for it - if I'm unable to get a signal from NBC and I'm just about 40 blocks from where they transmit I don't know how anyone else will!
     
  4. telecom69

    telecom69 Gone but never forgotten

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2001
    Messages:
    9,807
    Well cycler whatever we (the people) think in your country, the same as mine, the powers that be have decided that digital is the way it will be and so we have no choice in the matter ....digital is accepted over here nowadays and most people either go by way of satellite or cable,there are very reasonable "packages"offered by the relevant companies involved in this and the government even subsidise people on lower incomes to some degree (as they do in yours I'm led to believe) over here for instance I get over 200 channels of digital TV with no problems via cable ....and Im afraid no matter how close to the transmitter you live, you need a top class antenna to recieve it or go the other way via cable or satellite ...

    There is by the way a thread on this problem which has a lot of interesting reading if you are interested click on this http://forums.techguy.org/random-discussion/713916-anyone-still-using-analog-tv.html
     
  5. cycler

    cycler Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    496
    I spoke to someone in my building today and he said that the master antenna won't be working anyway after the switch to digital so that won't work.
    I guess I'll just call Samsung and see what they've got to say.
    Thanks!
     
  6. kiwiguy

    kiwiguy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17,584
    You need a good signal level for digital, in no way would I rely on an indoor unit.
    I really can't see what Samsung can do about it.
     
  7. Wino

    Wino

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2001
    Messages:
    18,709
    :confused: I would question that it would not work. If it works for analog it will work for digital, too. Have a friend with HDTV (no cable) and he's using his old analog outdoor antenna and gets more stations and better reception than I get with powered indoor antenna.
     
  8. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    The trouble is the the old Yagi type antennas are not appropriate for the reception of digital. You really need an antenna that looks more like the old UHF antennas, and, as you know, most of the digital channels will be in the UHF range. The quality is not as good in the lower channel numbers.

    As for NBC 4, are you sure you are trying the correct channels? Do you know what channel it will be in February and what channel it is now? They are not the same. Do you do an automatic scan?

    There are add-ons for Google Earth that show the nation-wide digital channels both as they are today and as they will be then.
     
  9. cycler

    cycler Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    496
    The antenna that I got is specifically for digital - I'll see if I'm able to locate a picture to add.
    I called NBC but they never got back to me on it.
     
  10. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    I was referring more to the one on the roof, especially if it has been there a while.
     
  11. cycler

    cycler Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    496
    Oh - right - from what I was told that one isn't really even an antenna - it's just something that was put there long before cable to bring in the signal.
     
  12. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    You could always put your own up there if the cable exists.

    I'm looking for a good roof-top antenna with the longest range possible and a rotor. There are quite a few on Ebay that claim ranges of 75-95 miles, but I'm a little wary of those mass-produced Chinese products with new names. They could make a fortune on those things and vanish before anyone realized it was junk (not that it is, but could be).
     
  13. mrobot

    mrobot

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    I just got the same TV as you and am having a similar problem. My old TV picked up all the analog channels perfectly, while on the Samsung they come in rather grainy. The HD channels it can receive are great, but many channels aren't coming in.
     
  14. cycler

    cycler Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    496
    That's the same for me. The digital picture is the best I've ever had (but I had an ancient TV so anything is an improvement). So what are you going to do about it for next year?

    I don't think that my building will let me put an antenna there because I'm sure that everyone except for me has cable - it's a huge building - almost a square block in NYC and I think that they'll say there will be liability issues.
     
  15. mrobot

    mrobot

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    I'm not sure, I was just googling the TV to see if other people are having similar problems, it seems they are. I'm thinking about trying to return the TV and see if a different one would get better antenna reception. Maybe they just built these without testing the antenna tuning very well.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/736684