1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Dimms 256 dimm shows as 128

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by theporg, Jan 6, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. theporg

    theporg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2002
    Messages:
    118
    I have a tecram M/B with three dimm slots allowing up to 768 MHz of PC 100 Memory. I have tried a PC133 256 Dimmwhich works ok but only shows up as a 128 Dimm on POST. The manual makes no suggestions other than bung it in. I was under the immpresion than PC133 was backwards compatible any ideas why?:confused:
     
  2. Hairy

    Hairy

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2000
    Messages:
    574
    not <B><U>All</B></U> is......

    " PC133 Modules are NO LONGER backward compatible with PC100 Machines.
    To determine the correct memory upgrade for your machine, use the PNY memory configurator on this page."

    from :http://www.pny.com/home/products/edo.cfm
     
  3. slawless

    slawless

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    326
    Some older system can only see a certain "chip density" that is divide the total memory on the stick by the number of black chips on the stick. Some systems such as one of mine will only see 16mb per ship. for a 256mb stick you would need 16 chips. from the way you describe the memory you have 32 mb/chip (8chips) or 64mb/chip (4chips). go to crucial. com they will tell you the memory your system needs. Of coures, they are trying to sell you memory, but it is a good reference site and they do make good memory.

    Steve L
     
  4. foufoutos

    foufoutos

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    24
  5. Party Boy

    Party Boy

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    Messages:
    356
    Basically older boards will recognise up to 128mb of single sided RAM (ie chips on 1 side of the stick) and up to 256mb of double sided RAM, this sounds like the problem you have.

    I get alot of phone calls about this :eek:
     
  6. theporg

    theporg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2002
    Messages:
    118
    Thanks for the replies. Slawless both sticks have got 8 chips onboard? I will have a look at the crucial site if only to bottom out the problem. foufoetos yours is another site I will be browsing. Party boy both sticks are one sided the 256 and the 128. Once again thanks for the suggestions.:D
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Dimms dimm shows
  1. tylerlike44
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    217
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/111764

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice