1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

'Dinosaur' Computers

Discussion in 'Random Discussion' started by NegativeKelvin, Dec 29, 2012.

Advertisement
  1. NegativeKelvin

    NegativeKelvin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    Messages:
    298
    I got kind of bored, so I decided to start a thread about "dinosaur" computers (aka really old computers).

    My ancient computer:

    Make: Packard Bell
    Model: Legend 833DX
    Year: 1991

    CPU: 33MHZ
    Hard drive: 85MB
    RAM: 4MB
    Screen Resolution: 1024x768
    Networking: Internal Dial-up modem
    Software: Prodigy, Lotus Works, Windows 3, DOS
    (it runs, too :D )
    Here's a pic: http://img96.imageshack.us/img96/2179/dscn01001.jpg
     
  2. pyritechips

    pyritechips Gone but Never Forgotten

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2002
    Messages:
    26,907
    First Name:
    Jim
    Please resize your photo so that it is a maximum 800x600 pixels. It is far too large for proper viewing.
     
  3. NegativeKelvin

    NegativeKelvin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    Messages:
    298
    Oh, thanks for the tip!
     
  4. ekim68

    ekim68

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    54,570
    First Name:
    Mike
    Nice, I remember those....(y) I have a Franklin CX circa 1982 with 64k of RAM and an 8088 CPU....No hard drive but two 5-1/4 floppy drives for both the programs and the data....BTW it still works, but I have to be real careful with the floppies...:cool:
    And another BTW, it's Apple Language...;)
    (I'll try to post a picture soon..)
     
  5. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,791
    Tandy 1000

    256 K of memory with the new 3-1/2 floppy drive but I got a 5-1/4 floppy drive I added because so much software was on 5-1/4 floppy disk still. No hard drive.
    Used TV setting and converter so I could used the tv as the monitor.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tandy_1000
     
  6. ozziebeanie

    ozziebeanie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,425
    First Name:
    Serena
    I remember my first computer, used to crash because I had to many applications open, and only had something like around 60 or 80 something mb of ram

    I had to clean out all the crap daily sometimes several times, so the computer would run slightly faster, with dial up internet, as the local exchange had not updated to ADSL at the time.

    I must have had more patience then, I think I would go crazy using that again.
     
  7. Frank4d

    Frank4d Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    I have a working Apple IIe, monitor, Duodisk drives and printer collecting dust.
     
  8. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    the first we bought was from memory a sharp had the latest a cassette drive it was before the floppies and hard drives you had to put everything by dos

    there were simple programs available on cassette i.e. 2+2 ect.

    from there we went to the vic 20 the commodore 32 then the commodore 64 then to the AT models
     
  9. NegativeKelvin

    NegativeKelvin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    Messages:
    298
    I got some pics of the internals of it.


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]
     
  10. NegativeKelvin

    NegativeKelvin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    Messages:
    298
    Last weekend I got the most interesting computer. I got a Texas Instruments TI-99. I'm now trying to obtain a power cable [​IMG]
     
  11. ozziebeanie

    ozziebeanie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,425
    First Name:
    Serena
    What wattage is it can you take a picture of where the plug would go into that machine so we can see what the end should look like
     
  12. NegativeKelvin

    NegativeKelvin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    Messages:
    298
  13. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    76,917
    i got an apple newton, does that count? :)

    I know I have cp/m disks somewhere, but I think they are in storage, and frankly probably toast by now......
     
  14. ekim68

    ekim68

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    54,570
    First Name:
    Mike
    Ok, I took a picture of my Franklin and will post a picture...;)
     
  15. HOBOcs

    HOBOcs

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    8,544
    First Name:
    Jim
    Interesting topic - just came accross mike's post today.

    I still have my original Sinclair zx81 bought in the 80's (an original before hey changed the name to "Timex Sinclair" - memory packs (16K) were slapped on the back.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ZX81

    I had to dig it out and see it was still alive.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Prior to that I did use a "Commodore Pet" (70's) - we used it for a business application for a farmer to keep track of sows and their pigglets - it got pretty sophisticated.
    Other computers I had my hands on .... Compaq Portable (Luggable), Apple II (used visicalc - excel like), then the Lisa and finally the MacIntosh.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1082902

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice