1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

direct connect in AOL IM

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by pointegirl, Apr 14, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. pointegirl

    pointegirl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    78
    Hi all

    My friend is having a problem direct connecting with me in AOL Instant Messenger. She clicks on the connect button and it waits a bit and then disconnects. It says something about a firewall which we have exited and then tried again. It still wouldn't work. Mine works fine with everyone else so we are assuming that it is her settings somewhere. I have Windows 98 and she has XP. Are there any settings in XP that could be stopping a direct connection? Hope you can help us.
    Thanks in advance.

    Pointegirl
     
  2. Grinler

    Grinler Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    103
    Have your friend make sure her XP firewall is not turned on.

    Have her go into the control panel, then network connections.

    Right click on local area connection and click on properties. Click on advanced and make sure that the Internet Connection Firewall is unchecked.

    You can read this tutorial to see how to configure the firewall.

    Configuring Windows XP Internet Connection Firewall
     
  3. pointegirl

    pointegirl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    78
    (y) Thank you so much for your answer. I will get her to try that. I imagine it would be a good idea for her to turn the firewall back on after we are finished with AOL. She is quite a newbie so I will impress upon her the importance of the firewall.
    Thanks again.

    Pointegirl
     
  4. Grinler

    Grinler Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    103
    Yes definitely have her turn it back on!

    Hope it works out
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/220218

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice