1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Direct Connect works but not throught router

Discussion in 'Networking' started by assasinzex, Jul 17, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. assasinzex

    assasinzex Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Hello there! I have a more, unique case about my internet problem.
    I'm in China right now, the land of censored internet :/
    In my hotel, it is currently running a free internet, through ethernet port/cat5 wire
    When i plug the wire into my port, the internet works fine, as i am sending this message now,
    However, when i plug the cable into my router, and i try to connect to the internet, it gives this message through chrome
    Error 105 (net::ERR_NAME_NOT_RESOLVED): Unable to resolve the server's DNS
    I'm currently running through the google free dns,
    i've cloned my mac address
    direct connect works, however router does not.
    Please help! If i've left out any other information, do tell me.

    IPConfig Logs, direct connected to the internet through wire and connected to the router.

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Larry Wong>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Larry
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Networ
    k Connection
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-18-DE-48-23-53
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 8.8.8.8
    8.8.8.4
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, July 17, 2012 9:51:44 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, July 18, 2012 9:51:44 PM

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connecti
    on
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-A0-D1-58-D4-D9
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.119
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 202.103.224.68
    202.103.225.68
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, July 17, 2012 10:00:18 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, July 18, 2012 12:00:18 AM


    C:\Documents and Settings\Larry Wong>

    SysInfo Log
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Professional, Service Pack 3, 32 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU T5500 @ 1.66GHz, x86 Family 6 Model 15 Stepping 6
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 2037 Mb
    Graphics Card: Mobile Intel(R) 945 Express Chipset Family, 128 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 114463 MB, Free - 55348 MB;
    Motherboard: Intel Corporation, MPAD-MSAE Customer Reference Boards
    Antivirus: Microsoft Security Essentials, Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Enabled
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,832
    First Name:
    Terry
    You (your router) and the hotel are using the same LAN subnet (192.168.1.x). Change your router to use a different LAN subnet (e.g., 192.168.3.x). When you change the LAN address make sure the Dhcp server's address range changes accordingly.
     
  3. assasinzex

    assasinzex Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    How would i do so, would i change the subnet mask?
    and from that, how would i be able to change the ip range?
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,832
    First Name:
    Terry
    No need to change the mask; it should remain 255.255.255.0. Just change the LAN address; for example, to 192.168.3.1. Then if the Dhcp Server's start and end addresses don't automatically change to 192.168.3.x, change them yourself.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1061415

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice