Direct Connect Works Wireless Doesn't

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

petersend

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 14, 2004
Messages
3
I have a laptop running Win98 SE. I have a D-Link PCMCIA Ethernet card which works fine. When I switch to a D-Link AirPlus G PCMCIA card I can see the wireless network but I cannot connect to anything. The Link light is lit, Act light only goes on when running the D-Link utility to measure signal strength, etc. the link quality and signal strength are > 90%.

ipconfig shows a valid IP address but pinging anything I get "Destination host unreachable."

I tried the wireless card on a WinXP laptop and it works fine.

Any help/suggestions is appreciated.

d
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2004
Messages
521
Do you have the drivers needed for the Dlink card for win98? I'm thinking you must if the Dlink utilites are working.

You don't by chance leave the wired connection on while attempting to use wireless? Unplug the wired connection if you did.

It is possible the two NIC drivers are conflicting keeping the wireless card from working completely...
 

petersend

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 14, 2004
Messages
3
5mi11er said:
Do you have the drivers needed for the Dlink card for win98? I'm thinking you must if the Dlink utilites are working.

You don't by chance leave the wired connection on while attempting to use wireless? Unplug the wired connection if you did.

It is possible the two NIC drivers are conflicting keeping the wireless card from working completely...
Yes I have the drivers and installed them as you guessed.

When I try the wireless connection I always remove the wired PCMCIA card.

My only thought is to reinstall the OS but I hate to go through all that - and the fact that I have a very low chance of actually finding the CD in my pile of junk.

d
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2004
Messages
521
Well, before reinstalling the OS, I'd try removing the devices, driver sets and devices from "device manager", reboot then plug the wireless card in and install the drivers...

But, unless you've copied the whole CD to the hard drive, don't you need the CD to properly install the network drivers anyway?
 

petersend

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 14, 2004
Messages
3
5mi11er said:
Well, before reinstalling the OS, I'd try removing the devices, driver sets and devices from "device manager", reboot then plug the wireless card in and install the drivers...
Tried this and no difference. I even tried inserting the Wireless card into a different PCMCIA slot. It caused the drivers to be loaded again but then the card didn't work at all. Moved the card back to he original slot I was using and it could receive the wireless signal again but the PC still wouldn't talk to it.

5mi11er said:
But, unless you've copied the whole CD to the hard drive, don't you need the CD to properly install the network drivers anyway?
I was using the ethernet PCMCIA card for several years nad that installed the necessary drivers. I actually found my CD but am reluctant to re-install until I understand what is happening.

Thanks for the suggestions.

d
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2004
Messages
521
You've totally blown away all things networking, completely, from the box, then re-inserted the wireless card? Sometimes you've got to start over from as clean a slate as you can. If that doesn't work, then reinstalling the OS is really your only shot at success.

Basically, the network drivers aren't talking to the wireless drivers correctly, or you'd be able to connect by now. Have you tried pinging this laptop from another box? If that works, then definitely, the drivers are messed up. If it doesn't work, neither should the box be able to ask for and recieve a DHCP address.

Either way, the drivers are hosed; you want a better explaination than that, you'll have to talk to the engineers that wrote the drivers in the first place.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top