DirectX info please

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

kimmer13

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 28, 2001
Messages
730
If I have DirectX 8.0 which installed when I put on Weakest Link, any games I previously had which were using DirectX6 or 7 should not have a problem right?

If I then install Cosmopolitan software which *without* asking me ( @@@^@%^#%) just automatically installed DirectX 6, what kind of problems would you expect?

Finally, when I scan my registry for references to "DirectX" I see references to DirectX 6, 7 and 8. Can this cause problems?

The problem I am getting which is posted elsewhere when I thought Kazaa created it, is Fatal Exception 0028 .... VXD NTKERN(01) + 0000CC1F. I get it when trying to run an installed game. Sometimes I press enter and it runs anyway. Some games I press enter and it freezes, requiring a Ctrl-Alt-Del which then allows me to shut down the game, and others I have to use my Power button and turn the PC off altogether.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
If you go to start and run dxdiag what version does it say you have installed, and does it report any problems (other than uncertified files)?

You can reinstall the latest DirectX, all new versions are supposed to be backward compatible.

An ntkern.vxd error would make me suspicious of faulty ram. And where DirectX is involved there could also be issues with motherboard drivers not being installed, particularly if you are using a VIA chipset and Nvidia graphics drivers.
 

kimmer13

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 28, 2001
Messages
730
i rebooted, and with nothing else open ran dxdiag, and it gave me the error i listed in my 1st post this thread.

however when i last ran it (prior to writing my 1st post today) it said it was version 6. and that was *after* re-installing version 8. which is why i posted - i thought maybe this goofy stuff had something to do with my vxd errors. but you think it's ram?
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
Actually I'm leaning toward a motherboard and/or driver problem. This would manifest itself in a much more narrow fashion. They tend to occur when directx applications are run.

What is your motherboard chipset and Video driver installation?
 

kimmer13

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 28, 2001
Messages
730
i'm sol now... after that fatal error when i tried dxdiag, i had to power the pc off. when i turned back on scandisk found 19 lost chains, which i told it to delete...........

i can't get into windows. the thing says Windows protection error.


aaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh........................
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
Rather sounds like you've got some serious hard drive problems. Have you tried safe mode? (ctrl key>startup menu>safe mode)

If you have a startup disk and a Windows CD, you can try a reinstall. Load with CD-ROM support. Put the Windows CD in and enter

e:\setup

(that's if 'e' is the letter that gets assigned to the CD-rom drive, it usually get's bumped up one)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top