Disable "Fast User Switching" in Windows 7 Home Premium

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

CthulhuCalamari

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 21, 2011
Messages
50
I know that there are versions of Win7 that have this as an option, but is it possible to disable Fast User Switching in the Home Premium version?

Specifically, Windows 7 Home Premium, SP1

Thanks
 

CthulhuCalamari

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 21, 2011
Messages
50
OK. I found that fix before, but when I double-checked the safety of the site I found several complaints by other users that there was malware present in the downloads provided on the site from time to time. Are those claims false?
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
81,718
There's no need to download and make use of the .reg file if you know how to go into the registry and do it manually.
If you don't know how, see if someone else can do it for you.

Capture.JPG
 

plodr

Liz
Joined
Jun 27, 2014
Messages
21,003
I'd download from bleepingcomputer any day.
They assist users in getting malware off computers so there is no way they would have a download link from their site that was infected.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
81,718
I downloaded and saved and checked the contents of that .reg file and scanned it with my antivirus program.
The contents are correct and it was clean.

To add to what Liz said, I use the BleepingComputer site almost daily.

----------------------------------------------------------------
 

XxHackThisxX

Banned
Joined
Jan 9, 2016
Messages
14
http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/disable-fast-user-switching-in-windows/#premium

If the correct section doesn't appear, scroll down to
"How to disable Fast User Switching in Windows 7, Windows 8, and Windows Vista".

-----------------------------------------------------------------
May i just jump in and ask a question? Sorry for the interruption,but i was just reading this thread and i was wondering what the difference was between "Fast User Switching" and "Secondary Logon"?
If i am the only user of my computer,can i disable them both? I am on 7 Home premium sp1 also.
Again,i apologize for the intrusion.
 

DaveA

David
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
16,684
One should ALWAYS have well pass worded "Admin User Account" that does NOT get used. It is a "Back door" just in case the prime account get clobbered.

The problem with the Switch user is that each time a switch is made, the running programs and open files get copied to the hard drive similar to the action when going into Hibernation.

When switching is used, before a machine can be fully shut down, each switched account needs to opened and LOGGED out of.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top