1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Disable Performance Counters

Discussion in 'Tech Tips and Reviews' started by Bold_Fortune, Sep 22, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bold_Fortune

    Bold_Fortune Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    78
    Is anyone familar with this? I just found this post on another site and would like to see some opinions about it. It sounds good to me...but then, what do I know? What's your take on it?

    --------------------------------------------------------------------

    Post by zedaxax:

    I didnt know there where performance counters until i read this.
    (This has nothing to do with info given in taskmanager)

    I got this Info from here -
    http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.cfm?articleid=1590&page=9
    havent seen it anywhere else.

    DISABLE PERFORMANCE COUNTERS
    Like Windows 2000, Windows XP has a performance monitor utility
    (found in administrative tools)
    which can track several areas of your PC's performance.
    Everything from CPU use to hard drive access can be tracked and graphed.
    The information for this utility comes from several performance counter services which run behind the scenes, gathering data for the monitor.

    If you have no use for this information, it's a good idea to disable the counters, since they take up system resources.
    Microsoft has made the necessary software freely available on their website.
    The Extensible Performance Counter List utility can be used to permanently disable these performance counters.


    INSTRUCTIONS
    First download and install the utility, then run the Exctrlst.exe utility,
    HERE : http://www.microsoft.com/windows2000/techi.../exctrlst-o.asp

    Select each line in the 'Extensible performance counters' window and clear the 'performance counters enabled' button below.
    You must do this separately for each counter.
    When done, just exit the utility.

    Now if you load the performance monitor,
    you will see that it has no information available to it.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  2. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
  3. sailinginbvi

    sailinginbvi

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    I'm a tweaking junky, love the whole site; thanks.
    Bill
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/276854

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice