disable system restore

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

lilaco

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 30, 2001
Messages
865
am having a problem whereby every night i download end of day stock quotes which is about 350kb and after finishing the download, i loseabout 100MB. need a solution.
am told that the problem is that somehow my computer does not recognize the tick mark in disable system restore. i get to file system, trouble shooting, UNCHECK disable system restore..hit apply...close...restart computer. when i go back there is a checkmark next to disable system restore.
i can send the computer back to the mfr. and i think they're just going to do a quick restore back to original mfr. software & i have tons of added on software that i want to try avoiding re-installing.
am using m.e.
do you think that the above is my problem or is it something else???

HELP!!!!!!!!

herb
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
Hiya

First off, why disable System Restore? If you ever have a problem, you won't be able to revert back to your original setup.
What OS are you using and what is the site that you download from?

Just curious, but who told you about the system restore bit? Not Dell, was it?

Also, this 100MB that you lose each time. Thats a lot, if you're downloading only ~400k

Have you done a virus scan, just to be sure?

http://housecall.antivirus.com/housecall/start_corp.asp

Regards

eddie
 

lilaco

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 30, 2001
Messages
865
eddie, we were not trying to disable system restore but rather to see if system restore was functioning. because the unchecking of disable system restore was not holding after we hit apply and restarted the computer, it seems that the computer is not recognizing the command and something is wrong with system restore.
STRANGE THINGS ARE HAPPENING!!!!! i went on the housecall site, downloaded, and before even doing the scan, c: drive went from 3.55gb to 4.27gb. however, after doing my usual 400kb download, i was back to 4.21gb. after a few days i am now at 3.95. still better than 3.57 but not the answer.
did the virus scan......nothing came up in the white virus scan box of the program but i did get a white message with the following:-
c:\unzipped\passkeeper\pass32.exe is win.32 hybris.b worm. not restored. this message was preceded with "vet resident protection version 10.2.9.0. Because it did not appear in the white virus scan box i wa unable to clean it. how do i get rid of it??? do you think this is causing my problem???
i have a compaq presario 1200us laptop using windows me.


herb
 

lilaco

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 30, 2001
Messages
865
---------- C:\WINDOWS\desktop\StartUp.Log

Start-Ups checked at
__________________________________________________________________________
__________________________________________________________________________

StartUp Log for Windows 95/98 - Freeware by rmbox
__________________________________________________________________________
__________________________________________________________________________

Comments:

This is a log of all the programs on your computer that
are starting automatically every time you start Windows.
Using this log can be a quick way to spot trojans.

StartUp Log (version 1.54) - Release Date 12/12/2001

__________________________________________________________________________
__________________________________________________________________________

StartUp Log Index

1. HKLM Run
2. HKCU Run
3. HKLM RunOnce
4. HKCU RunOnce
5. HKLM RunServices
6. HKLM RunServicesOnce
7. WIN.INI file
8. SYSTEM.INI file
9. AUTOEXEC.BAT file
10. StartUp folder
11. All Users StartUp
12. Misc. StartUp Configurations

__________________________________________________________________________
__________________________________________________________________________

The following is a list of your current Start-Ups
__________________________________________________________________________
__________________________________________________________________________

1. HKLM Run - Registry

[RegPath]
"StartUp"


[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run]
"Gator"="\"C:\\Program Files\\Gator.com\\Gator\\Gator.exe\""
"CPQEASYACC"="C:\\Program Files\\Compaq\\Easy Access Button Support\\StartEAK.exe"
"PCHealth"="C:\\WINDOWS\\PCHealth\\Support\\PCHSchd.exe -s"
"ScanRegistry"="C:\\WINDOWS\\scanregw.exe /autorun"
"TaskMonitor"="C:\\WINDOWS\\taskmon.exe"
"SystemTray"="SysTray.Exe"
"LoadPowerProfile"="Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme"
"Vet Alert"="C:\\WINDOWS\\System\\VetMsg9x.exe"
"VetTray"="C:\\PROGRA~1\\INOCUL~1\\VETTRAY.EXE"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run\OptionalComponents]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run\OptionalComponents\MSFS]
"Installed"="1"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run\OptionalComponents\MAPI]
"NoChange"="1"
"Installed"="1"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run\OptionalComponents\IMAIL]
"Installed"="1"


==========================================================================
__________________________________________________________________________

2. HKCU Run - Registry

[RegPath]
"StartUp"


[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run]


==========================================================================
__________________________________________________________________________

3. HKLM RunOnce - Registry

[RegPath]
"StartUp"


[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunOnce]


==========================================================================
__________________________________________________________________________

4. HKCU RunOnce - Registry

[RegPath]
"StartUp"


[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunOnce]
"QRIA"=dword:00000000


==========================================================================
__________________________________________________________________________

5. HKLM RunServices - Registry

[RegPath]
"StartUp"


[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices]
"LoadPowerProfile"="Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme"
"*StateMgr"="C:\\WINDOWS\\System\\Restore\\StateMgr.exe"


==========================================================================
__________________________________________________________________________

6. HKLM RunServicesOnce - Registry

[RegPath]
"StartUp"


[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServicesOnce]


==========================================================================
__________________________________________________________________________

7. WIN.INI File - (c:\windows\win.ini)

Your win.ini run/load lines should look like run= and load= exclusively.
There should be nothing to the right of the equal signs.


These are the run and load lines in your WIN.INI file

run=

noload=C:\OPLIMIT\ocraware.exe

==========================================================================
__________________________________________________________________________

8. SYSTEM.INI File - (c:\windows\system.ini)

Your system.ini shell line should look like shell=Explorer.exe exclusively.
You should only see Explorer.exe following the equal sign.


This is the shell line in your SYSTEM.INI file

shell=Explorer.exe

==========================================================================
__________________________________________________________________________

9. AUTOEXEC.BAT File - (c:\autoexec.bat)

(Some trojans have been known to start from this file)


These are your program startups and set paths in your autoexec.bat file

SET windir=C:\WINDOWS
SET winbootdir=C:\WINDOWS
SET COMSPEC=C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND.COM
SET PATH=C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND;C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND;c:\COREL\OFFICE7\SHARED\TRUEDOC\BIN
SET PROMPT=$p$g
SET TEMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP
SET TMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP
SET CLASSPATH=.;c:\COREL\OFFICE7\SHARED\BARISTA;c:\COREL\OFFICE7\SHARED\TRUEDOC
SET LD_LIBRARY_PATH=c:\COREL\OFFICE7\SHARED\TRUEDOC\BIN

==========================================================================
__________________________________________________________________________

10. StartUp Folder - (c:\windows\start menu\programs\startup)

Shortcuts to any program will automatically start when placed here.


These are the shortcuts located in your StartUp folder

*(No start-ups found)*

==========================================================================
__________________________________________________________________________

11. All Users Folder - (c:\windows\all users\start menu\programs\startup)

Shortcuts to any program will automatically start when placed here.


These are the shortcuts located in your All Users StartUp folder


*(No start-ups found)*

==========================================================================
__________________________________________________________________________

12. Miscellaneous StartUp Configurations

-============================-
Registry StartUp Directories
-============================-

Should show the Start Menu StartUp and All Users StartUp directories

.....................................................................

[1] HKCU - Shell Folders

HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Shell Folders

"Startup"="C:\\WINDOWS\\Start Menu\\Programs\\StartUp"

.....................................................................

[2] HKCU - User Shell Folders

HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\User Shell Folders


.....................................................................

[3] HKLM - Shell Folders

HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\explorer\Shell Folders

"Common Startup"="C:\\WINDOWS\\All Users\\Start Menu\\Programs\\StartUp"

.....................................................................

[4] HKLM - User Shell Folders

HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\explorer\User Shell Folders


.....................................................................

-=======================-
Registry Shell Spawning
-=======================-

Open Commands for Executable File Types

@="\"%1\" %*"
(.exe file - RegPath = HKCR\exefile\shell\open\command)

@="\"%1\" %*"
(.com file - RegPath = HKCR\comfile\shell\open\command)

@="\"%1\" /S"
(.scr file - RegPath = HKCR\scrfile\shell\open\command)

@="\"%1\" %*"
(.bat file - RegPath = HKCR\batfile\shell\open\command)

@="\"%1\" %*"
(.pif file - RegPath = HKCR\piffile\shell\open\command)

@="C:\\WINDOWS\\SYSTEM\\MSHTA.EXE \"%1\" %*"
(.hta file - RegPath = HKCR\htafile\shell\open\command)

-=========================-
HKLM RunOnceEx - Registry
-=========================-


[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunOnceEx]


-=========================-
HKU (.Default) Run - Registry
-=========================-


[HKEY_USERS\.Default\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run]


-==============================-
HKU (.Default) RunOnce - Registry
-==============================-


[HKEY_USERS\.Default\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunOnce]
"QRIA"=dword:00000000


-================================-
StubPaths - Registry (Partial Listing)
-================================-

(Please see the StubPath.txt on your desktop for complete listing)

HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Active Setup\Installed Components


"StubPath"="C:\\WINDOWS\\msnmgsr1.exe"
"StubPath"="C:\\WINDOWS\\COMMAND\\sulfnbk.exe /L"
"StubPath"=""
"StubPath"="\"C:\\PROGRA~1\\OUTLOO~1\\setup50.exe\" /APP:OE /CALLER:IE50 /user /install"
"StubPath"="\"C:\\PROGRA~1\\OUTLOO~1\\setup50.exe\" /APP:WAB /CALLER:WIN9X /user /install"
"StubPath"="C:\\WINDOWS\\SYSTEM\\ie4uinit.exe"

-=================-
WINSTART.BAT File - (c:\windows\winstart.bat)
-=================-

@C:\WINDOWS\tmpcpyis.bat

-=================-
DOSSTART.BAT File - (c:\windows\dosstart.bat)
-=================-

@echo off

REM Notes:
REM DOSSTART.BAT is run whenenver you choose "Restart the computer
REM in MS-DOS mode" from the Shutdown menu in Windows. It allows
REM you to load programs that you might not want loaded in Windows,
REM (because they have functional equivalents) but that you do
REM want loaded under MS-DOS. The two primary candidates for
REM this are MSCDEX and a real mode driver for the mouse you ship
REM with your system. Commands that you want present in both Windows
REM and MS-DOS should be placed in the Autoexec.bat in the
REM \Image directory of your reference server. Please note that for
REM MSCDEX you will need to load the corresponding real-mode CD
REM driver in Config.sys. This driver won't be used by Windows 98
REM but will be available prior to and after Windows 98 exits.
REM
REM This file is also helpful if you want to F8 boot into MS-DOS 7.0
REM before Windows loads and access the CD-ROM. All you have to do
REM is press F8 and then run DOSSTART to load MSCDEX and your real
REM mode mouse driver (no need to remember the command line parameters
REM for these two files.
REM
REM - You MUST explicitly specify the CD ROM Drive Letter for MSCDEX.
REM - The string following the /D: statement must explicitly match
REM the string in CONFIG.SYS following your CD-ROM device driver.

REM MSCDEX.EXE /D:OEMCD001 /l:d
REM MOUSE.EXE


-=====================-
Screen Saver Settings (Possible system.ini start-up)
-=====================-

SCRNSAVE.EXE=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\CURVES~1.SCR

==========================================================================
__________________________________________________________________________

- Supplemental Environment Information -

COMSPEC=C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND.COM
PATH=C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND;C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND;c:\COREL\OFFICE7\SHARED\TRUEDOC\BIN
TEMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP
TMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP
CLASSPATH=.;c:\COREL\OFFICE7\SHARED\BARISTA;c:\COREL\OFFICE7\SHARED\TRUEDOC
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=c:\COREL\OFFICE7\SHARED\TRUEDOC\BIN
winbootdir=C:\WINDOWS
windir=C:\WINDOWS

File - c:\windows\deletefi.ini

==========================================================================
__________________________________________________________________________

- End -
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
Hiya

Looking quickly through it, I see you have Gator. Thats spyware, though it shouldn't be causing this problem. Go here and download AddAware www.lavasoftusa.com
Install and run it, ensuring that deep Registry scan is enabled. Remove all except any references to Web3000 or new.net.

Also download Refupdate from the same place and run it, to get the latest engine.

Now, the list:

I'm curious about this:

4. HKCU RunOnce - Registry

[RegPath]
"StartUp"


[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Curr
entVersion\RunOnce]
"QRIA"=dword:00000000
I'll get confirmation on that.

Apart from that, I can't see anything.

eddie
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
Okay, you may have it. According to Symantec's site, it says this:

If Wsock32.dll is being used by the system, the worm cannot modify it. In this situation, the worm will add a registry entry to one of the following subkeys:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\
Windows\CurrentVersion\RunOnce

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\
Windows\CurrentVersion\RunOnce
Now, we have

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\
Windows\CurrentVersion\RunOnce
"QRIA"=dword:00000000

So, that could be it.

Okay, lets asume it is, that way we can be safe. Have you got the latest definitions for your AV? If not, get them.

Let me know when you're ready.

eddie
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
Sorry, shorthand :p

AV is antivirus, inoculateIT

eddie
 

lilaco

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 30, 2001
Messages
865
eddie, here's what i get....what do you want me to do next

Scan initialized on 12/3/2001 8:50:44 PM.
(AAW release 5.62, referencefile 087-22.09.2001)
=================================================


Started extended registry scan
===============================
Cydoor key:HKEY_USERS\.default\software\cydoor\
Gator key:HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\clsid\{21ffb6c0-0da1-11d5-a9d5-00500413153c}\
Gator key:HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\software\classes\getandrun.dfrun\
Gator key:HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\software\classes\getandrun.dfrun.1\
Cydoor key:HKEY_CURRENT_USER\software\cydoor\
Cydoor key:HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\software\cydoor\
Gator key:HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\software\gator.com\
Gator key:HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\software\microsoft\windows\currentversion\moduleusage\c:/windows/downloaded program files/iegator.dll\
Gator key:HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\software\microsoft\windows\currentversion\uninstall\gator\
Other key:HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\software\microsoft\windows\currentversion\uninstall\offers\
Web3000 key:HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\software\microsoft\windows\currentversion\stashedgef
Web3000 key:HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\software\microsoft\windows\currentversion\stashedgmg
Gator key:HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\software\microsoft\windows\currentversion\run\gator
Gator key:Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\SharedDLLs\C:\WINDOWS\Downloaded Program Files\IEGator.dll
Gator key:HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\moduleusage\C:/WINDOWS/Downloaded Program Files/IEGator.dll
Gator key:CLSID\{c1fb8842-5281-45ce-a271-8fd5f117ba5f}


Registry scan result:
Suspicious keys found :16



Scanning finished
==================
Suspicious modules found:0
Suspicious keys found :16
Suspicious folders found:0
Suspicious files found:0
=========================
Spyware components ignored:0
Total spyware components found:16
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
Okay

You can remove all of them, but my main concern is this virus that you may have. Have you ran your Antivirus program yet?

eddie
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
What does AV mean?
It means Antivirus... ;)

About this entry in RunOnce, it isn't an executive.

According to F.Secure you should see something like Ccmboifm.Exe, Lphbngae.Exe, or Lfpcmoif.Exe
That could actually do something.

This is a DWORD value set at 00000000 which means that, at the moment in any case, it just sits there and does nothing.

What it's from I don't know. Maybe something you've just installed/removed?

Grtz.
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
Hiya Tony

Thanks for claryfying this. I was a bit worried, but not, if you know what I mean.

eddie
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
Are you clicking "ok" after "apply". Or even just "ok" after the change?

Correct me if I'm wrong on this guys, but I don't think the "apply" tab alone surviives a reboot. For that you have to click "ok".
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top