1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Disable touchpad

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by SkeetyPaublo, Dec 4, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. SkeetyPaublo

    SkeetyPaublo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    I recently fixed my computer, and had some trouble with it.

    I have fixed all these problems down to the last bit, no thanks to some, I'm even glad I didn't follow some of the bad advice... I need to disable my touchpad because the left mouse button doesn't work and the right button registers at random times, so I plugged in a usb mouse and everything is ho-hum except that because of the touchpad the right button goes sparatic sometimes... do I need to disable the driver? I think there should be another way...
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,856
    First Name:
    Wayne
    whats the make and model of the machine - sometimes one of the F keys disables the touch pad - also if you go into control panel mouse - you can disable there

    what windows version are you running
     
  3. SkeetyPaublo

    SkeetyPaublo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    It's an inspiron 1525 running vista.

    Thanks
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,856
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Page 45 of the user manual
    http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/systems/ins1521/en/om_en/pdf/RT722A02MR.pdf
     
  5. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,195
    First Name:
    Frank
    I just recently worked on a Sony VAIO VGN series laptop that had a non-working left button and sporadic-working right button on the ALPS touchpad. I disabled the touchpad in the Device Manager and connected a USB scrolling optical mouse.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. SkeetyPaublo

    SkeetyPaublo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks for trying, but the 1525 is different from the 1521, keyboard brings up keyboard properties, and mouse brings up mouse properties, but there's no device select or touchpad tab.
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,856
    First Name:
    Wayne
    sorry about that - I thought I had the 1525 manual
    But the 1525 manual has the same instructions
    http://support.dell.com/support/sys.../systems/ins1526/en/om/keyboard.htm#wp1050951

    Have you tried FN and the F5 key ?
    or
    Control Panel –> Mouse Properties –> Touch Pad to enable or disable the touchpad.
    or
    The touch pad can also be disabled through the device manager. Type devmgmt.msc in the Windows Run box to start the device manager, expand “Mice and other Pointing devices”, right-click and disable the driver entry that says Touch pad or likewise.
     
  8. dustyjay

    dustyjay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,661
    First Name:
    Jay
    Go to Control Panel Open Mouse, click on the touch pad that will show up. Then select Change Touch Pad Properties. You will find a button to disable the touchpad. There is also a check box to disable the touch pad if a USB Mouse is connected. My 1525, i just disable the touch pad as I don't like them. And yes I just checked before I posted this.
     
  9. Hughv

    Hughv

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    8,450
    Is the touchpad driver installed?
     
  10. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,195
    First Name:
    Frank
    It should work without the software driver package for it, but less functional.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  11. Hughv

    Hughv

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    8,450
    I'm thinking that's why it doesn't show up in Control Panel.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/966531

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice