disable "unread mail" message at windows log-on screen

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

tywebb

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 19, 2003
Messages
81
i recall reading somewhere (this forum, most likely) that i can disable the annoying "you have 1 unread mail message waiting" (or however it goes...). i find this function rather perplexing, seeing as i can go online, look at no e-mail of any kind (i HATE e-mail), and that message will come up. can anyone help me here?

thanks

oh yeah... i'm using xp home.
 
Joined
May 9, 2003
Messages
106
This is the message that happens at log on right?...If so, then that is what is linked to your .net account...

I have that set up too, and i find it annoying too because it doesnt update right all the time...but i imagine if you just disable the .net account, then it wont show that anymore because it wont have a link to your email.
 

tywebb

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 19, 2003
Messages
81
okay, i'm going to have to play stupid here, but what or where, exactly, is my .net account? as i mentioned above, i absolutely detest e-mail (or, as i call it, the spam and virus sender). the less nuisances i have concerning it, the better.
 
Joined
May 9, 2003
Messages
106
haha...that can be quite true....

The .net account is basically hotmail. MS wanted to integrate its email service into windows...so voila.

Unfortunately, I am not sure how to disable this feature on XP....Im looking through the user account options in control panel, but not finding anything yet....ill let you know if i figure it out
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2002
Messages
759
Disable MSN Messenger from starting on boot, or when you use a manual login, it won't show unread messages.
 

tywebb

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 19, 2003
Messages
81
i believe i disabled MSN messenger months ago, but i'm still getting the same stupid message! i've gone through every e-mail i could think of, read and deleted them all, yet that annoying message is still there at log-on. can anyone help?!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top