1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Disabled HDD in XP home sp3

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Ingraved, Sep 30, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Ingraved

    Ingraved Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Hello, I recently disabled my primary HDD in windows unintentionally. Now windows will not boot. I receive the BSOD message telling me i need to run chkdsk but i know the HDD works fine. I installed a second windows on the same hdd to boot to and it works.
    My question is:
    How can I alter the files in the windows folder of my primary install to renable the HDD so that I may boot it?
    thank you for any of your inputs
    -Ingraved
     
  2. pjhutch

    pjhutch

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Messages:
    429
    You need NTLDR, Boot.ini and NTDetect.com at the root of the hard disk to boot from it.
     
  3. Ingraved

    Ingraved Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Those files are there and they work.
    I can boot to the HDD from my second install of windows, this folder is named windows.0
    My primary install with my original install of windows will not boot. I need to know how to configure this install to enable the HDD
     
  4. Frank4d

    Frank4d Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    Open your boot.ini file using Notepad and paste the file contents here.
     
  5. pjhutch

    pjhutch

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Messages:
    429
    You may also need to make you disk 'Active' to boot from it. For example, the following will make partition 1 on Disk 0 active.

    C:\> Diskpart
    Diskpart> List Disk
    Diskpart> Select Disk 0
    Diskpart> List partition
    Diskpart> Select partition 1
    Diskpart> Active
    Diskpart> Exit

    As Frank4d you also need to edit Boot.ini so that the correct disk and partition numbers of where Windows is installed are correct. Its usually something like:
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\Windows
     
  6. Ingraved

    Ingraved Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    I ran the diskpart command in CMD like you suggested pjhutch and i edited the boot.ini form \windows.0 to \windows and it did not work.
    Hre is what I was doing prior to the crash.
    Originally i was trying to remove the registry entry for Bonjour, ndnsnsp.dll and it caused an error in my startup services. I am on vacation and did not bring my original windows disk but I have an .iso that i made. so i was trying to run SFC with an emulated drive but it was not working. when i was trying to assign the emulated drive as the primary input device i accidentally disabled the HDD from the hardware tab in properties. Now i get a BSOD form that install. as you can tell i am unable to run the recovery console at this time. any other help would be awesome
     
  7. pjhutch

    pjhutch

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Messages:
    429
    Can you boot in to safe mode and change and settings there?

    Recovery console is a bit restricted as you can only do some things such as
    Enable - enable a driver
    Disable - disable a driver
    Listsvr - list services and drivers
    Diskpart - disk partitioning
    Fixboot - fix boot files (useful for fixing boot.ini)
    Fixmbr - fix master boot record

    http://www.michaelstevenstech.com/r_c_cmds.htm

    Another tool you can try is BartPE for fixing XP issues using a GUI:
    http://www.nu2.nu/pebuilder/
     
  8. Ingraved

    Ingraved Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    none of the advanced startup options help
     
  9. Ingraved

    Ingraved Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    *bump*
     
  10. Frank4d

    Frank4d Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    post a copy of the boot.ini
     
  11. Ingraved

    Ingraved Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    this is what i got;
     
  12. shinybeast

    shinybeast

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    513
    Did you install both on same partition? If so I think the best thing to do is get whatever data you need off of that partition and start clean with format and re-intsall. You can't (as far as I know) put two copies of XP on same partition and have them both work.
     
  13. Ingraved

    Ingraved Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    my problem started before i had a second install
    Also i do not have my install disks I am on vacation.
     
  14. Ingraved

    Ingraved Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    29
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/754771

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice