1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Disabled WLAN Autoconfig-Service, now i can't connect anymore.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Kashin, May 12, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Kashin

    Kashin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    I only installed my DIR-635 router just yesterday, and today i found out what a pain the lagspike-per-60 second thing was that the WLAN Autoconfig service causes when it searches.
    I was messing around with a fix and when i disabled the service i had no idea that i wouldn't be able to connect to my wireless anymore after i re-enabled it.
    So yeah, that's what happened. I disabled the service, then tried to connect to my wireless network again but i cannot, even though it shows up in my detected networks.

    I spend hours googling for a solution, it seems many people have the can-see-network, but-cant-connect problem. Just noone that got it in this particular way. Could someone please help me get my connection back?
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows Vista.

    Start, All Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,981
    First Name:
    Terry
    If the repairs don't fix the issue disable encryption on the router and try to connect. Assuming success you should be able to re-enable encryption and reconnect.
     
  4. Kashin

    Kashin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Thanks for the help guys! I'm afraid i've got an even bigger problem now, though..
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Must be a new thread. :)
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Disabled WLAN Autoconfig
  1. Nlmv
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    128
  2. alan222
    Replies:
    23
    Views:
    617
  3. Jumpinjack2
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    502
  4. NobbyT
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    3,284
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/826607

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice