1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Disapearing DSN numbers

Discussion in 'Networking' started by wonderland, Feb 8, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. wonderland

    wonderland Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    What gives? We have a wireless Linksys system with a G router and G wireless card in the computer having problems. A month or so ago we kept losing the connection and LinkSys recommended putting in the DSN numbers for the connection. They thought that some of the security and spyware protection programs might be interfering with the automatic detection settings. We did that and it seemed to work ok for a while. Now

    In the last three days the Network Properties TCP/IP properties, the DSN numbers keep being erased. The TCP/IP setting for the wireless adapter is not there either.

    Anyone have any idea what could be up? How do you get the wireless card specific TCP/IP listing back?
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. Toddles18

    Toddles18

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Messages:
    2,910
    First of all I'd go to the security area of TSG and follow there instructions on getting rid of spyware. There are some great threads there that walk you through the process. Then go to linksys's website and find the newest version of its driver for your wireless card and install it and see if you still have any problems.
     
  4. wonderland

    wonderland Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    when we had problems last month we up loaded the latest drives. And I have the spyware protection recommened in the secuirty forum loaded on the machine. It is the protection that Linksys throught was interfering with the automatic detection settings. (I have 4 teenagers - the security section is my savior!!!)
     
  5. Toddles18

    Toddles18

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Messages:
    2,910
    What protection in particular did linksys refer to that they thought was causing the problem?
     
  6. wonderland

    wonderland Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Linksys did not mention any specific names. On the computer we have Spy-bot, Spyware Blaster and Spyguard. Also regularly run Ad-Aware and Regvac. But yesterday I disabled everything and the DSN numbers still disapear. Could it because there is not a specific TCP/IP listing for the linksys wireless card?

    How do I add it to the properties?
     
  7. StillRushn

    StillRushn

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 1999
    Messages:
    59
    Have you enabled the nic for manual input of IP info and then done so. If so do you lose the settings?
     
  8. wonderland

    wonderland Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    I am not sure what the nic is - but what we did was right click on network neighborhood, select TCP/IP properties - select DNS tab, select DNS and then enter the IP addresses of our ISP. And yes the IP addresses for the ISP keep disappearing
     
  9. StillRushn

    StillRushn

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 1999
    Messages:
    59
    Nic is network card. You right click network neighborhood then right click local area connection (Wireless Network card) Go to tcp/IP properties for the card. Instead of choosing Obtaining address automatically choose Use the following IP Address then put in an address from the range that the linksys router is assigning (usually 192.168.0.xxx) don't use 192.168.0.1 as the router uses that one pick something like 192.168.0.22. The range could be 192.168.1.xxx. You can find the current address by using ipconfig /all at the command prompt for & 2000 or Start > Run msconfig for 98. Put in the subnet mask of 255.255.255.0 and the default Gateway shown by the above mentioned commands. Then put in the DNS info by selecting the button Use the following DNS server address choose OK.
    See what happens now.
     
  10. wonderland

    wonderland Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    the TCP/IP for the card disapeared. but we have been putting the DNS number is the plain TCP/IP properties and it will run for a little. We will try putting an IP address under IP addresses then see what works. Just love it when everything works well for months then starts doing weird things.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/201864

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice