1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

disappering drives

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Brockman, Oct 2, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Brockman

    Brockman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    82
    I have a old packerd bell 233 pen. proseser 64 megs memory, 2 1.3gig hard drives. Today got the blue screen of death, forgot what tit said, rebotted and my drives were gone. Tried over and over but keep not finding drives, keep giving me messages press any key to restart. Anyway i turned it off for about 15 minutes went to get a screw drive to open the case, but before i did thought id try it again and what do you know it booted all right. Ant ideas on this, anyone. Thank you
     
  2. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,848
    First Name:
    Rob
    Is it all the drives or just one? - check the BIOS/POST screens if it happens again. Sounds like a drive is quiting on you - proabably the harddrive. You can can also replace the IDE data cables or use this a diagnostic to test the drive.

    Here's a good diag: http://www.maxtor.com/en/support/downloads/powermax.htm
     
  3. Brockman

    Brockman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    82
    It was all the drives they didnt post gave me the opsotion to hit F

    4 to skip, showed 2 things no drives then it showed the drives.
    drive c- none
    drive d- none
    drive c -mmi 1.3
    drive d- mmm 1.2
    then it loaded go back then went to screen where it said press any key to restart.
     
  4. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,848
    First Name:
    Rob
    I think maybe one of your HDD's may be dying or suffering from heat issues - is it hot or cramped in your case?
     
  5. Brockman

    Brockman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    82
    no case has lots of room, it was only on for 15 minutes before the blue screen appeared. Ill check it out more tomorrow when i have some time, open her up and check the cables. wierd thing happen to the darn puters from time to time. Thanks
     
  6. Brockman

    Brockman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    82
    Trie the computer for an hour this morning no problems so far. It kinda balked a few times but showed up the drives. The lady that uses this puter had the monitor sitting down on the keyboard key. maybe the F4 key when she started it the last few times maybe thats what caused it, but for now it seems to be ok. Thank you
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/169129

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice