Disconnect Box

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

mikecaro

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 30, 2001
Messages
10
I used to have a box appear when I shut down my IE Browser that would ask me if I wanted to disconnect but one day when I was uploading my web page a screen kept coming up saying I was inactive for a period of time and asking if I wanted to disconnect. I clicked a box saying, "don't ask me this again" and now the box doesn't come up anymore asking if I want to disconnect when I shut down my Browser. How can I get that box to come back up again?
Mike
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2001
Messages
105
Ok, try to follow this.

Start up IE,
Go to Tools-Internet Options
Click the Connections tab
Select the connection you use in the white box
Click settings
Click advanced
Check the box labeled "Disconnect when connection may no loger be needed"

The other box - "Disconnect if idle for longer than" should be unchecked if you do not want the computer disconnecting after a period of time.
 

Bryan

Bryan
Joined
Jul 3, 1999
Messages
11,943
Henry's suggestion will usually fix it but if it doesn't, try <a href=http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-US;q193555> this</a> registry edit from Microsoft.

BTW, be patient if you click on the link I provided. The Microsoft site is crawling today. Everyone and their brothers must be flooding the site to get the fix for the security hole discovered in Windows XP a few days ago.
 

Brooks

Guest
Joined
Oct 30, 2001
Messages
2,323
It is not just Microsoft having problems today, alternet has a backbone router in Atlanta that keeps timing out.
 

mikecaro

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 30, 2001
Messages
10
Well Henry's suggestion didn't work. And the regedit info didn't work because it suggests changing the "EnableAutodisconnect" value and it doesn't even show up on the suggested registry. Is there a way to add this?

Mike
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Yes, there is.

Download the attached Autodisconnect.txt, save as (rename to) Autodisconnect.reg, and doubleclick to have it merged into the registry.

Good luck,
 

Attachments

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top