1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Disconnecting on One Computer

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Devilz, Sep 22, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Devilz

Devilz Thread Starter

This only happens with one of my computers and the router isn't the problem (I've tried connecting without it and the problem is still there.) I will disconnect often (at random times) but this will not happen with any of the other computers that I connect to the modem. I can't figure out what the problem is, it's only started happening a few days ago. The computer uses Windows XP SP2 and I've been using it for a few years now.

Help is appreciated.

2. s.haulk

s.haulk

Try this. Click on start>run>type cmd>click okay>type netsh winsock reset catalog. If you do it correctly it will say that is was a success. Now try to connect again. Also is your email working and can you ping out?

3. TerryNet

TerryNet Moderator

First Name:
    Terry
    Perhaps the cable or your NIC is failing. Or there may be a software problem.

Try Safe Mode with Networking and see if the disconnects still happen.

4. TerryNet

TerryNet Moderator

First Name:
    Terry
    s.haulk has a good idea, and here is the complete repair ...

(From a JohnWill post)

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2 or SP3.

Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt.

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

Reboot the machine.

5. s.haulk

s.haulk

As an ISP tech I was taught that this command line was for SP1 only but that could be wrong. The employer that I worked for depended on network engineers and us techs to create its troubleshooting guides.

6. JohnWill