1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Disk Clean-up & Disk Defrag XP

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by margie821, Sep 3, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. margie821

margie821 Thread Starter

I am unable to get Disk Cleanup or Disk Defragmenter to work. I have Window's XP professional.

2. BTS '76

BTS '76

try doing it in safe mode, tab the F8 button continously while the system is booting up, at the menu, choose safe mode and try defragging there.

3. Elvandil

Elvandil

4. margie821

margie821 Thread Starter

Thanks Elvandil, but I'm a novice, what exactly does chkdsk mean? When I clicked on http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/reg...essoldfiles.reg it started to download a program. I didn't accept because I wasn't sure if it was something I was suppose to run that would correct the problem or not. Sorry, obviously I'm rather clueless to technology but rely on the wonderful people on hear to educate me :confused: Margie

5. Elvandil

Elvandil

The file from Kelly's Korner is a reg file that you will need to merge with your registry to fix the Disk Cleanup problem. Anything from Kelly is safe. You can just open it or save it and run it.

As far as chkdsk goes, it is the XP equivalent of scandisk for repairing disk errors. It can be accessed as a tool in the Properties menu of your drives in My Computer. But it is actually easier to do it from the Run box in the Start menu.

To check your C: drive, for example, go to the Run box and type:
    chkdsk C: /f