Disk Cleanup Wants to Delete Hard Drive

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

MercZire

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 10, 2005
Messages
53
Wow, this is kind of odd... I ran disk cleanup and noticed that the size of the temporary files it wants to delete totals about 56 GBs, which is pretty much everything on my HD.

It did this once before, only it just deleted Windows, which is pretty ironic.

I've tried running chkdsk with the r parameter, and it found nothing, so I'm not sure exactly what to do with a Windows-specific issue like this, especially seeing as I have no restore points other than the latest one, which was just before I found this all out. Reformatting is NOT an option. Any ideas?
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2003
Messages
17,584
The primary idea would be not to run disk cleanup.

Manually delete your temporary files, but a reinstall of Windows would be at the top of my priorities.
 

MercZire

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 10, 2005
Messages
53
I was thinking of just switching to a third-party sort of Disk Cleanup thing, like CCleaner or something.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,722
I normally just look on my boot partition for junk and manually delete it. Disk Cleanup has too much of a tendancy to delete stuff I don't want it to delete! You need to be careful with 3rd party "clean-up" utilities too. I used to use TempClean, but I could never figure out why suddenly Office would want to install a feature out of the blue, and also Visual Studio would lose the MSDN help files. It was TempClean removing something labeled *.tmp that was obviously necessary. :)
 

MercZire

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 10, 2005
Messages
53
Woah woah, wait... now it says it's going to delete 60 GB.

I don't even have 60 GB taken up!

I'm thinking of maybe just running it with that selected to see if it's just bluffing =|.

I feel like I'm dealing with a hostage situation.
 

MercZire

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 10, 2005
Messages
53
M'kay, definitely solved now.

I... acquired... the full version of AVG Anti-virus thingy, and ran it after running Ad-Aware and deleting my MRU lists, and it found a bunch of **** that Norton utterly missed. I just ran Disk Cleanup and everything's fine now. Thanks for nothing guys =D

Just kidding =|

And Happy New Year or something.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top