Disk usage 100%

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

disk100helpme

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 22, 2018
Messages
1
Hi, my disk usage is constantly at 100% on windows 10 and has been since i got my new laptop ~3 months ago, it should run quickly but is always slow, has non responsive programmes and occasionally crashes. I have tried so many tips that I've found on youtube or elsewhere online to fix it and nothing works, does anyone have any advice?
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,589
Hi, my disk usage is constantly at 100% on windows 10 and has been since i got my new laptop ~3 months ago,
Rather than trying suggestions found on YouTube some of which can only be described as rubbish or elsewhere online, with a new laptop, where the 100% disk usage and the slow performance - which you say has existed since new
Have you never referred the issue to the seller or indeed if it is a recognised make from one of the giants of the industry - Dell Toshiba HP etc - to them
That I can assure you was the best course of action.

However in an attempt to help you further what is the make and FULL model details of the laptop
Also post please the results of running our system information utility by copying and pasting the info in the white box
https://static.techguy.org/download/SysInfo.exe
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2013
Messages
792
Hi, yes i agree your first approach should have been to contact the seller, not too late, I would do this now.

If you decide not to and wish to proceed then the systeminfo from Mac's link is a bit too lean for your problem.

press the win + x keys, select Powershell (admin) from the options, an elevated powershell prompt will open, copy the below cmd and right click anywhere in the powershell window, the cmd will append to the prompt, press enter.

Get-Process | Sort CPU -descending | Select -first 8 -Property ID,ProcessName,CPU | format-table |out-file $home\cpu.txt
notepad $home\cpu.txt

Notepad will open do this when your machine is at 100% it gives us the top 8 running processes. Please copy paste this notepad output here.

Next still in the powershell window type:-

cmd (press enter)

This opens a cmd prompt within powershell, copy ALL the below cmd, and right click anywhere in the cmd\powershell window,the cmd will append to the prompt, press enter.

echo > 0 & systeminfo >> 0 & WMIC /Node:localhost /Namespace:\\root\SecurityCenter2 Path AntiVirusProduct Get displayName /format:list >> 0 & wmic PATH Win32_VideoController GET Description,PNPDeviceID /format:list >> 0 & wmic logicaldisk where drivetype=3 get Name, Compressed, Description, FreeSpace /format:list >> 0 & tasklist /v >> 0 & net start >> 0 & echo >> 0 & notepad 0

Notepad will open with a lot of data please save this to desktop and use the "more Options" link at the bottom of the thread to attach the file in your response. This gives us far more info then Mac's link and also does not need you to download anything.
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,589
If you decide not to and wish to proceed then the systeminfo from Mac's link is a bit too lean for your problem.
I do not agree - I requested that information as the starting block
With respect = If I had wanted further information at THIS stage
I would have asked for it.
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2013
Messages
792
Hi Mac, that's appreciated, however what I asked for, you must agree, does help, if the OP wishes to continue and not take our advice to RTM. Why are people so sensitive on this forum? Many of my associates will not join here, citing an attitude problem, my approach, if it is good advice and I didn't know about it (or even if I did) then it should be welcomed.
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
120,029
jenae,

I think you are missing the point. Someone wants to help and decides to gather some basic information before providing more detailed instructions for troubleshooting the problem. There's nothing wrong with that and often it's done because history has shown that many posters have sought help elsewhere and never return to the thread so they want to wait to see if they really wish to continue troubleshooting before going into too much detail.

Generally speaking when a person who is already known to be well-versed technically gets involved it's common courtesy to wait to see what their approach will be before concluding that they won't be able to fix the problem. One can argue that there is no ownership of these types of threads and that is true however it's not necessary to jump in at such an early stage when someone else who is competent is already on it. Doing so looks like an attempt to take over and dismiss the other person as inferior and can be confusing to the original poster.

Sure people can be over-sensitive at times but on the other hand some people can also be over-bearing. If you feel the need to intervene then kindly just post your message without any unnecessary commentary.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top