1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Disk Utility Locked

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by ocnblu74, Dec 15, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ocnblu74

    ocnblu74 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2001
    Messages:
    33
    When system boots up, the Drive Space box pops up with Disk A highlighted and states removable drive on this computer. When trying to save a word document onto a disk to the floppy drive, the hourglass hangs there for several minutes, then message read Disk Utility has locked. Where do I go to unlock it and have access to saving documents onto floppy disk? Do I mount or unmount disk space?

    Any assistance is appreciated. Thank you.;)
     
  2. Bryan

    Bryan

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1999
    Messages:
    11,943
    First Name:
    Bryan
    Not completely sure if this is the problem but do you have Norton software loaded on the PC? If so, I don't use Nortons but I believe the setting to try turning off is called "Auto Protect".
     
  3. ocnblu74

    ocnblu74 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2001
    Messages:
    33
    I use Mcafee, version 4.5.1 and installed it about 2-3 weeks ago. I'll take a look if there's something there to check or uncheck. I'll let you know. Thanks for reply. :cool:
     
  4. Bryan

    Bryan

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1999
    Messages:
    11,943
    First Name:
    Bryan
    Try disabling the McAfee component called "Safe and Sound" and see if it still does it.
     
  5. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    What OS is this? Looks like Win98....is this a zip or LS-120 drive we are talking about here? What is the message that pops up exactly?
     
  6. ocnblu74

    ocnblu74 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2001
    Messages:
    33
    And I find the safe and sound where in Mcafee? The OS is Windows ME and I'm unable using floppy disk to save to the A drive. It seems there a Disk Utility that 's locked.
     
  7. Bryan

    Bryan

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1999
    Messages:
    11,943
    First Name:
    Bryan
    I'm not sure since I don't use MCAfee.

    What other software besides McAfee do you have installed on the PC? It may also be some other software locking it like FirstAid, Nuts and Bolts, etc....
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/61812

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice