1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Disk Write Error

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by ottogrummt, Mar 25, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ottogrummt

    ottogrummt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    Disk Write Error
    My D drive went bad, so I installed a new one. I use it to back up files from the C drive. However, now I can’t copy anything larger than about 5 MB without getting a blue screen that says, “Disk Write Error. Unable to write to Disk Drive D. Data or files may be lost”.

    The computer has a 533 Intel Celeron CPU and 64 MB of RAM. It is running with Windows 98SE.

    The new drive is a Maxtor 10 GB 5400 RPM. It is the master on the secondary IDE bus.
    I was able to copy without difficulty to the drive that went bad, which was a Samsung 4.3 GB drive.

    I try to copy a whole folder at one time, and that’s when I get the error message. When I copy file by file, I can do so without the error message. My guess is that I have a write speed problem or maybe a cache problem.

    When I get the blue screen error message I can usually cancel the operation without rebooting. Then when I look at the D drive I find that some of the files have been copied.

    Can anyone help me?
     
  2. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    MAke sure the new one is set up correctly in the BIOS if you aren't using auto-detect. Did you use the new cable that came with the drive or leave the old one in the PC to connect the new drive?
     
  3. ottogrummt

    ottogrummt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    I used auto detect in the BIOS. The drive is recognized. I formatted it successfully. It is only when I try to copy an entire folder to the D drive from C, that I get the "disk write error".
     
  4. ottogrummt

    ottogrummt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    I solved the problem by putting both drives on the same cable, one as master and the other as slave. This way the "read/write" doesn't have to go through the motherboard.:)
     
  5. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    Of course it's going through the motherboard!! The processor and I/O are on the motherboard aren't they?? You probably had a poorly seated or bad cable on the other channel.
     
  6. ottogrummt

    ottogrummt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    You are no doubt right, but it works, that is what counts. Thanks for your advice.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/73858

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice