1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Display adapter (or ???) woes after NSW2006 install.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by sunfoot, Jul 12, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sunfoot

    sunfoot Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    I've installed NSW 2006 onto my friend's Gateway PC (desktop). The install went fine but my friend requested that I leave all of Norton's config options set to Auto (detect, repair, etc.). This is something that I don't personally choose to do on my own PC; if there's a fix to be done, let me Google it and/or ask to learn something new.

    Anyhoo, my friend shut down her PC earlier on account of thunder and lightning. When she rebooted, the boot sequence progressed until right after the MS Windows splash screen, At that point the screen blanks and the monitor message reads: "Power Signal Out of Range". Then the monitor goes into sleep mode, while the PC is still active (in terms of HDD activity).

    I'm at an absolute loss that this is occurring, since when I installed the Norton software there were no problems at each of the 'Install-based reboot points'. Any insight is greatly appreciated in advance...

    Scott
     
  2. MartyMcFly

    MartyMcFly

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    43
    Could it be that the user changed the display settings, or a display driver problem.

    At boot, when you see the first Windows screen press F8 loads to get a Windows boot settings menu, (not the same as boot drive menu) and boot into VGA mode.

    Change the display settings to lowest, and reboot normally. Once back in normal mode, increase the settings, until you've tested the limit, or reached a satisfactory level. Consult the Monitor manual if available.

    If that doesn't work, then try reinstalling the GFX Driver.

    Also on the F8 menu, you will find "Last Know good config" and "Safe Mode" which are worth trying if neither of the above work.
     
  3. sunfoot

    sunfoot Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks...will try later. I appreciate this and any forthcoming insight tremendously. :)
     
  4. Rumpo-Stiltskin

    Rumpo-Stiltskin

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    958
    Norton on a Gateway...... I wouldn't know where to start! :D

    Anyway, just a tip for you / your friend.
    If you're going to shut your PC down during a storm - unplug it too.
    The power supply is still effectively "on" and drawing power (unless isolated with a switch on the power supply or at the mains socket) even with the computer off.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/482485

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice