1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Display driver issues & USB peripherals reset

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Lcdel, Oct 23, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Lcdel

Lcdel Thread Starter

I hope someone can help me with this, I'm a digital artist working from home and this is really affecting my job! My display driver and USB ports are both badly acting up. I'm not sure exactly when this all started--the display issue has been happening for a while but everything started getting worse in the last few weeks.
    • Display issue: Online PC games say the graphics driver is bad and needs an update, but when I try to update I'm told it's the most recent version. When trying to watch a video (in Windows' native player especially), my monitors will flash and the video blacks out. I use Zbrush for work that I think is a more RAM-involved program than graphics card and it does *not* cause display blackout. Sometimes all open programs will shift off Monitor 2 onto Monitor 1 after the screen flash.
    • USB issue: Device manager constantly flickers when I have it open. Often when I'm working, I'll hear a disconnect noise and my keyboard, mouse, and the pen input on my Cintiq/tablet monitor all go dead for a few seconds. Uninstalling USB drivers and restarting the PC hasn't done anything. Since yesterday I've also been getting popups from Windows about not recognizing a USB drive or something malfunctioning.
    System Info:
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Home, 64 bit
    Processor: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X Eight-Core Processor, AMD64 Family 23 Model 8 Stepping 2
    Processor Count: 16
    RAM: 32715 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080, -1 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: 465 GB (182 GB Free); D: 3725 GB (1396 GB Free);