1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Display goes black after 4-5 seconds

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by Lexsar, May 15, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Lexsar

    Lexsar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 1999
    Messages:
    185
    I have a Dell T5400 running Windows 10 Enterprise. Nvidia Quadro 5000 video card. Dell 19" monitor. For seemingly no reason, the display had gone dark. If I turned the monitor off and back on, I would get video for 4-5 seconds.

    I first swapped out the video cable, same issue. I then swapped out the monitor, , same issue. I then swapped out the video card, same issue.

    I can remote desktop into this computer from another on my network. I updated the video driver, chipset and the bios. Still the same issue. Any thoughts?

    ================
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Enterprise 2016 LTSB, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5430 @ 2.66GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 23 Stepping 6
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 16381 Mb
    Graphics Card: AMD Radeon HD 8570, 1024 Mb (Originally a nVidia Quadro 5000 (2.5 GB GDDR5)
    Hard Drives: C: 446 GB (236 GB Free); E: 596 GB (201 GB Free); F: 1862 GB (387 GB Free);
    Motherboard: Dell Inc., 0RW203
    Antivirus: Windows Defender, Enabled and Updated
     
  2. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,620
    First Name:
    Frank
    You appear to have a Dell Precision T5400 WorkStation desktop.
    It's an old model which was designed for and has support only for Windows XP and Windows Vista 32/64-bit.
    What's the exact "service tag" number and "express service code" number on yours?

    It appears you replaced its NVIDIA Quadro 5000 graphic card with a much weaker AMD Radeon HD 8570 graphic card. :confused:

    Capture1.JPG

    Capture2.JPG
    (click each image to enlarge and view)

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2017
  3. Lexsar

    Lexsar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 1999
    Messages:
    185
    Thanks for replying. This workstation has been running Windows 10 Ent for months with no issues. Having no recent installs or changes, the monitor all of the sudden started going black and would only come back on for 4-5 seconds at a time. I replaced the Quadro with the Radeon because that was the only other video card I had on hand and I wanted to confirm that it was not the Quadro. I also just tried swapping the Radeon into the other PCIe slot after changing the off board video card settings in the Bios. Dell Service Tag: GYH77G1, Express Service Code: 36913257073
     
  4. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,620
    First Name:
    Frank
    You have THIS Dell Precision T5400 WorkStation desktop.
    It shipped in May 2008 in the U.S.A. and came with Windows XP Professional SP2 32-bit.
    It also came with a NVIDIA Quadro NVS 290 256 MB graphic card.

    You're running an unsupported and questionable operating system (Windows 10 Enterprise 2016 LTSB, 64 bit) in that desktop, and it's also 9 years old, so your display issue may be hardware-related or software-related or both.

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    111,843
    Please open an Elevated Command Prompt window (on the Start screen, type "Command" - a Command Prompt icon will appear, right-click on it and select Run as Administrator) then at the prompt, type the following (be sure to include the spaces):

    Licensingdiag.exe -report %userprofile%\desktop\report.txt -log %userprofile%\desktop\repfiles.cab

    After running the command, two files will appear on your desktop, report.txt and repfiles.cab. Please open the report.txt file in Notepad and copy and paste the contents here. The repfiles.cab is only a backup file and can be ignored for the time being.
     
  6. Lexsar

    Lexsar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 1999
    Messages:
    185
    I check that tonight and post my findings. Thanks.
     
  7. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    111,843
    Thanks.
     
  8. Lexsar

    Lexsar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 1999
    Messages:
    185
    Here is the report file:

    <DiagReport>
    <LicensingData>
    <ToolVersion>10.0.14393.0</ToolVersion>
    <LicensingStatus>SL_LICENSING_STATUS_LICENSED</LicensingStatus>
    <LicensingStatusReason>0x00000000</LicensingStatusReason>
    <LocalGenuineState>SL_GEN_STATE_IS_GENUINE</LocalGenuineState>
    <LocalGenuineResultP>1</LocalGenuineResultP>
    <LastOnlineGenuineResult>0x00000000</LastOnlineGenuineResult>
    <GraceTimeMinutes>0</GraceTimeMinutes>
    <TotalGraceDays>0</TotalGraceDays>
    <ValidityExpiration></ValidityExpiration>
    <ActivePartialProductKey>9D8WQ</ActivePartialProductKey>
    <ActiveProductKeyPid2>This_is_private</ActiveProductKeyPid2>
    <OSVersion>10.0.14393.2.00010100.0.0.125</OSVersion>
    <ProductName>Windows 10 Enterprise 2016 LTSB</ProductName>
    <ProcessorArchitecture>x64</ProcessorArchitecture>
    <EditionId>EnterpriseS</EditionId>
    <BuildLab>14393.rs1_release_sec.170427-1353</BuildLab>
    <TimeZone>Eastern Standard Time(GMT-04:00)</TimeZone>
    <ActiveSkuId>This_is_Private</ActiveSkuId>
    <ActiveSkuDescription>Windows(R) Operating System, VOLUME_MAK channel</ActiveSkuDescription>
    <ProductUniquenessGroups>This_is_Private</ProductUniquenessGroups>
    <ActiveProductKeyPKeyId>This_is_Private</ActiveProductKeyPKeyId>
    <ActiveProductKeyPidEx>This_is_Private</ActiveProductKeyPidEx>
    <ActiveProductKeyChannel>Volume:MAK</ActiveProductKeyChannel>
    <ActiveVolumeCustomerPid></ActiveVolumeCustomerPid>
    <OfflineInstallationId>This_is_Private</OfflineInstallationId>
    <DomainJoined>false</DomainJoined>
    <ComputerSid>S-1-5-21-3548311064-3938540386-3067828992</ComputerSid>
    <ProductLCID>1033</ProductLCID>
    <UserLCID>1033</UserLCID>
    <SystemLCID>1033</SystemLCID>
    <CodeSigning>SIGNED_INFO_PRS_SIGNED</CodeSigning>
    <ServiceAvailable>true</ServiceAvailable>
    <OemMarkerVersion>0x00020001</OemMarkerVersion>
    <OemId>DELL </OemId>
    <OemTableId>B9K </OemTableId>
    <OA3ProductKey>This_is_Private</OA3ProductKey>
    <Manufacturer>Dell Inc.</Manufacturer>
    <Model>Precision WorkStation T5400 </Model>
    <InstallDate>20160907212830.000000-240</InstallDate>
    </LicensingData>
    <HealthCheck>
    <Result>PASS</Result>
    <TamperedItems></TamperedItems>
    </HealthCheck>
    <GenuineAuthz>
    <ServerProps>This_is_Private;TimeStampServer=2016-09-18T21:06:44Z;</ServerProps>
    </GenuineAuthz>
    </DiagReport>
     
  9. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    111,843
    First of all, please do not edit the reports.

    Secondly, is this computer being used in a work environment or is it for personal (home) use?
     
  10. Lexsar

    Lexsar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 1999
    Messages:
    185
    Home use
     
  11. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    111,843
    Then I'm afraid we have to stop all assistance at this point as the computer is using a MAK Volume license which is for company use only and not valid for the end user. If you want to run Windows 10 then you will have to purchase a retail copy of that OS and do a fresh installation. Or, you can reinstall Windows XP using the license key on the COA sticker that came with the computer.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1190026

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice