1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

display problems

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by matt22jets, Jan 6, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. matt22jets

    matt22jets Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    hey guys/girls
    i have an older computer that the video card has just failed in (agp) so i bought a new pci video card but still wont display anything on the screen, also not sure if it matters or not but i am running windows xp pro and have an
     
  2. Oddba11

    Oddba11

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7,933
    First Name:
    Jim
    How do you know the AGP card failed?
     
  3. matt22jets

    matt22jets Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Because the card over heated the fan no longer spins and when I plug my avg cord into it and my monitor it says no connection, but if I plug the same avg cord into another computer it works fine
     
  4. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    what are you running
    video card brand and model
    cpu
    m/board
    ram
    power supply
    brand
    model
    wattage

    check the listings in the bios for 12v line voltages and temperatures and post them
     
  5. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,962
    First Name:
    Frank
    If it's an older desktop with an Intel chipset, you may need to use a NVIDIA chip-based video card instead of an ATI chip-based one.

    You might also consider one with a heatsink instead of a cooling fan, especially if the power supply is wimpy.

    -----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. matt22jets

    matt22jets Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    i bought a nvidea geforce 6200 video card, have an intel processor and asus motherboard, also im using a 420 watt power supply (just replaced 2 days ago)
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1083997

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice