1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

display problems

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by lynr, Feb 15, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. lynr

    lynr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    All of a sudden my computer display is going crazy. When I boot up the whole screen shakes, after it has loaded it stops but I have this very slow wave like effect that spreads from top to bottom. When I click to open a program the desktop display seems to disintegrate. Is something dying on me?
     
  2. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    Possibly your Video Adapter. Right click My Computer icon and select Properties. Select the Device Manager tab. Scroll down to Display and click on the +sign next to it. Write down the brand name of the display adapter shown therein, as we may need this information in case we may have to download the drivers online.

    Highlight the Display adapter shown therein by clicking on it, Click on Remove. Confirm its removal and close all Windows. Restart the computer.

    Windows will redetect the device and will reinstall the drivers thereby.
     
  3. lynr

    lynr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    I've tried that but it made no difference, except that maybe the 'wave' is moving a little faster.
    The display adapter is S3 Trio 64V+PCI(765). I have already checked their web site and it is obsolete. I don't know enough about these things to know if anything else will work.
     
  4. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
  5. lynr

    lynr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    Unfortunately this site appears to be nothing but a big con. Having gone through the rigmarole of registering, I downloaded the file but it is nowhere to be found on my computer and I just know I am going to get a ton of spam from this!
     
  6. lynr

    lynr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    I have just managed to download another S3 file from the site. I thought I had nothing to lose as I will get the spam now anyway. I tried several times to download from the link but when I tried another file I got a different option on the download page. The file I downloaded is S3 Trio 64V+PCI, there is no number after this though, would that make a difference?
     
  7. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    Thats wierd. I also tried to download and nothing happened.

    Well, nothing is guaranteed. Is there a conflict in the Device Manager? Have you tried using another monitor?

    In your position I would check for these items first, prior to execute an unknown file. I have done many searches for this driver. There are no many options available.
     
  8. lynr

    lynr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    I found a file that said it was the 765 chip and loaded it. It was no good, I think it may have been older than the one I have. There is another driver listed as '765,775,Trio3D', would this do any damage if I tried it? I have my existing driver backed up. I hope to get another monitor to try out tonight.
     
  9. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    Each new installation would just replace the existing one.
     
  10. john1

    john1

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Messages:
    8,994
    That sounds like a power supply problem to me.
    The wave you speak of sometimes appears with failing power supplies.

    Fortunately decent power supplies for PCs are quite cheap these days.
     
  11. lynr

    lynr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    I'm afraid I've no idea what you mean, I thought power supply was just what you plug into the mains.
     
  12. lynr

    lynr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    I have tried a new monitor. It is definitely not that causing the problems. I think it is dying. I have also sometimes had the screen resolution changing on it's own. It has been easy enough to re set though. I thought it might have been a virus but I have run all the checks imaginable and found nothing. Does this give you any more clues? By power supply are we referring to the main board of the cpu?
     
  13. john1

    john1

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Messages:
    8,994
    Hi,

    still sounds like power supply to me.
    here is a picture of a power supply:
    http://www.rlsupplies.co.uk/products/product.asp?id=1164

    Briefly, ... the PCs power supply unit takes in electricity from your mains socket,
    and provides the various little voltages for the different parts in your PC.

    If it is failing, it can give the sort of problems you describe.

    Other problems could also give similar symptoms, but it sounds like
    power supply to me.
    Hope you get it sorted, if you find out whats up, please come back and say.

    Regards, John :)
     
  14. lynr

    lynr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    I can't do much else right now but yesterday the computer went crazy. When I turned it on it only got as far as the windows logo, it was black and pink insead of the normal colors and the screen was flashing. I had to shut it down and then it rebooted in safe mode. After doing a proper shut down and resetting my display resolution I am now back to where I was before. Just wondering if this provides any more info. I am trying to decide if I should go for a new CPU but everything advertised seems to be sold as a package, I don't need a new printer or monitor. I do need to add more memory and I would like to upgrade to Windows XP. Is it worth my while to just upgrade the separate peices?
     
  15. john1

    john1

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Messages:
    8,994
    It is extremely unlikely that the CPU is responsible for this behaviour.
    It is much more likely to be the power supply.

    I would be interested to know if anyone else looking in
    could describe the various problems a failing power supply could cause.

    Regards, John :)
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/330913

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice