1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

"Display Properties" error message?

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by ibm37, Dec 29, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ibm37

    ibm37 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    604
    HI,

    Just noticed... when I go - Display Properties/Settings/Advanced, and when selecting the "tab" Geforce2Mx/Mx 400 I receive an error message, the type with a cross on a red background, with
    nvcpl displayed at the "top left" and the following words:

    Catastrophic Failure (OK)

    What should happen is that another tab, left hand side of main window shouls pop out with other options, it still does, but is just a white "pop out" (kind of hangs) I can just click away and click on the other tabs all ok, just wondering if anybody knows what
    this is all about???

    Thanks...
     
  2. BigTex

    BigTex

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    616
    What OS are you running and is the error message is Catastrophic Failure?
     
  3. ibm37

    ibm37 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    604
    HI,
    I am running XP Pro, and yes the error message is "Catastrophic Failure"

    Thanks..
     
  4. BigTex

    BigTex

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    616
    Hey ibm37 this seems to be a registry problem, can you get to System Restore? Start/Programs/Accessories/System Tools/System Restore. If you can go back to the closest date prior to when the problem started and do a System Restore.
     
  5. ibm37

    ibm37 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    604
    HI, BigTex

    Yes I can, but I have just installed Adobe Acrobat
    I will if you think it is best?
    Cheers
     
  6. TheShadow395

    TheShadow395

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    92
    I have a GeForce4 MX440 and the same error. I got it after updating my graphics card drivers some time back. It's not a very helpful error message!
     
  7. ibm37

    ibm37 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    604
    Yeah, thanks..
    I seem to remember updating my Drivers a few weeks ago (Windows Update)
     
  8. kiwiguy

    kiwiguy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17,584
    Try updating your specific video drivers from the video card makers website.

    Its best to avoid the "generic" windows update video drivers, they are sometimes problematic as they are not very hardware specific.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/190789

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice