display settings

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

truckboss

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 23, 2007
Messages
3
hello, i have a sony vaio desktop pc, its a pcv-r522ds running windows 98.
i cannot change the display settings and i also noticed that on bootup its shows my display adapter but it keeps changing the port location,like 220-22f, next boot its 240-24f, does that make a difference?
i read on here to replace the drivers for the display adapter but i cant find what i need, its either a bunch of ads that go nowhere or illegal download. my display adapter is an (ati rage 128 vr sd agp 2x )( file version 4.11.6118) everything i check shows the adapter and tells about it like in properties,under adapter it says: ati rage vr sd agp 2x
manufacturer: ati tech-enhanced
software version 4.00
current files:ati2draa.drv*,vdd*,vflatd,ati2 vxaa.vxd.


any help would be appreciated.
 

bonk

Banned
Joined
Sep 8, 2005
Messages
11,097
Welcome,

As this is a laptop you have to go to Sony website to get your Drivers for that PC.

Not sure where your from so you can start here
 

truckboss

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 23, 2007
Messages
3
thanks for replying, its a desktop pc. i tried sony's site and nothing on there i can use, everything i find tells about it but i cant find the drivers i need, i found it on ati's site and started to download and it popped up this is an illegal download.
 

bonk

Banned
Joined
Sep 8, 2005
Messages
11,097
Understood.......

Don't know why I thought it was a laptop

try this

go to Device Manager

To get to Device Manager click Start>>Run type devmgmt.msc click OK


Look down the list for Display Adapters
Click on the + sign to expand
Double click on your Video card
Click on driver tab
Uninstall driver

Restart your PC


Also you can try these drivers here http://www.majorgeeks.com/ATI_Catalyst_Drivers_For_Windows_98Me_d4037.html


ever thought of ungrading to XP
 

truckboss

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 23, 2007
Messages
3
thanks for the reply bonk, got it working:D you mentioned upgrading to xp, can i do that on my system and whats involved?
 

bonk

Banned
Joined
Sep 8, 2005
Messages
11,097
Yes you can....not sure how much memory you have but if you have 256mb or more that's fine.

To do so you would have to purchase a CD with XP Home or XP Pro.
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2004
Messages
1,912
As Bonk says 256Mb will be OK - but that is all. It is the bare minimum required to run XP and it will not be quick. You will find that the more you have running in the startup the slower it gets.

I would advise at least 512Mb.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top