display

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

MintabiePete

Thread Starter
Joined
May 7, 2002
Messages
113
I have a Octek Rhino MVP4-AT motherboard that has a built in sound and display but I have never been able to get the display working and have used a PCI video card which works OK .

I have noticed in my BIOS an entry "Init Display First" and it is set on PCI slot but I can set it on AGP if I want .

The thing is if I try setting this to AGP and set the computer up with video this way what happens if it doesnt work ? am I stuck in Limbo with no where to go ?

I would like to get this to work on onboard video if I can.

Hoping someone can give me a hand :D
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2003
Messages
16,274
Then leave agp alone in the bios and go to the device manager and look fro yellow exclamation points. Do you see any ?
 

MintabiePete

Thread Starter
Joined
May 7, 2002
Messages
113
If I enable Trident Video Blade 3d/mvp4 I do , I get a yellow ? , but I have had it disabled . If I enable it and hook the monitor to it I get nothing although it takes a drain of my memory of 8mb when I set it to AGP in the bios but this other setting is one that I never noticed re setting Init Display first PCI or AGP in the BIOS .
 
Joined
Oct 25, 2001
Messages
1,742
First set the BIOS setting to PCI-NOT AGP! DISABLE onboard video. Remove ALL instances of other video drivers. Install updated drivers for the PCI video card. Do all this in safe mode. Restart.
 

MintabiePete

Thread Starter
Joined
May 7, 2002
Messages
113
Quote:

First set the BIOS setting to PCI-NOT AGP! DISABLE onboard video. Remove ALL instances of other video drivers. Install updated drivers for the PCI video card. Do all this in safe mode. Restart

No worries there my friend , I am trying to get the ONBOARD video working I :D Thanks tho for the input .
 

MintabiePete

Thread Starter
Joined
May 7, 2002
Messages
113
I have three Op systems on this Win XP Home/win98SE/RedHatLinux8.0 on a 40Gb HDD.

I think my problem is in the BIOS settings , I have a AGP (enable or Disable) and this other Initial Display First (PCI slot or AGP slot) and there is no AGP slot it is onboard .

http://www.yjfy.com/O/OCTEK/mainboard/Rhino_MVP4-BKE.htm

It will run OK with the PCI Video card but I would like to get it running on the Trident Blade 4mb onboard if just to see it work.:D
 

MintabiePete

Thread Starter
Joined
May 7, 2002
Messages
113
I ended up going into BIOS changing initial display first to AGP slot then assigned IRG for AGP enabled that then assigned IRQ for VGA enabled that. Took my PCI video card out hooked up to the onboard video and booted and presto there it was .

I was under the assumpion that if I had the settings wrong I would have no screen and would have to reset my BIOS but evidentally it will go to bios automatically before it starts windows as a matter of course ( or so I have been told ) so thanks everyone for giving me a bit of a push with this , it is something that I have been putting off for ages :D
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top