1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Displaying an Attachment Query in a Form

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by JaschaMuller, Sep 27, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. JaschaMuller

JaschaMuller Thread Starter

Hi
    I am a true beginner in access programming, so excuse if my methods isn't the best, and any advice would be much appreciated.

My main problem is displaying a Query I did on an attachment field in my main table on a form.
    This is what i am working with:
    Access 2007
    My main table name : Table2
    Attachment column name in Table2 : Target_photo
    Query name: QuerySpecGraph (Query on the attachment field)

The query works perfectly fine when I run it and gives me the correct result. Now to display the query on the form I added an new attachment under controls and edited the control source to display the query results.

I used the function dlookup:

=Dlookup("Target_photo","QuerySpecGraph")

I tried similar code on a text box, with a text Query and that worked fine. However it does not want to work for the attachment.

Then I tried to analyze the situation to see if the query is the problem, so changed the attachments control source to:

=Dlookup("Target_photo","Table2")

this was to see if even a basic dlookup function works in the attachments control source, but yet again the attachments box stays empty (Again I tested the simple dlookup function with a text box to see if my table is the problem, but the textbox's dlookup works fine)

I do not know what I am doing wrong, or if it is even possible to do what im trying to do! Any advice would be much appreciated, and if there is away around this I will gladly explain in more detail what im trying to do.

Thanx
    JaschaMuller

2. OBP

OBP Trusted Advisor