1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Dissamble Power Adapter brick - laptop

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by springbrk200, Jul 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. springbrk200

springbrk200 Thread Starter

I have recently noticed that depending on the position of the low volt line exiting the power adapter brick for my laptop, my laptop will register as pluged in, or as running on battery power. My AC power adapter brick has a lose connection in it. I want to disasemble it and attempt to fix the connector.

I am currently studying electrical/computer engineering so I feel confident that I will be able to fix it, but I can get inside the box.

as always any and all help is greatly appreciated.

ps. yea I could go buy a new power adapter, but I don't want to spend that $60 if I can help it.

2. Courtneyc

Courtneyc

If your brick is anything like the ones I make, it is encased in epoxy inside the plastic case. (I do it to allow the brick to survive drops.) If that's the case, you won't be able to fix it.

What is the make/model of your laptop?

Courtney sends....

3. darkelf_18

darkelf_18

A certain position at the female port on your laptop? Or a certain POS coming out of your power brick...

Cause I had a similar problem and it was actually the motherboard that was at fault(went and bought a new IGO power cable...)

4. springbrk200

the problem is definitely on the power brick. I have a HP presario V2000. I think the power brick might be encased in epoxy, but I still want in even if that means cutting through it. If I did cut through it where would be a good location to avoid aditional damage?

5. JohnWill

JohnWill Retired Moderator