Dissapearing Connection?!?!? Please help?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

sirspammer

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 12, 2006
Messages
74
Hey, firstly, the computer is running in XP home edition, and is relitivly new and sparkly..

But this is not the first time i have had to post about this computer.. To start with my mum managed to get it overrun by malware, the computer had pretty much all viruses and spyware known to man, and you guys helped sort that out...

Then after this, and probably due to that, we had connection issues.. we couldnt connect to the internet or the network.. This time after a few days of posts noone could work it out, and we needed a quick fix, so we took it to the local computer shop, where they fixed it, but for £30.. and it worked fine again, no problems, up untill this point...

Now again we have the same problem.. the computer wont attach to the internet or the network.. When trying to rapair the connection, windows shows an error of not being able to refresh the ip adress.. I have reaserched and googled the problem for a while now and have tried many fixes and diffrent suggestions, including WinsockxpFIx but none have yet had any result, so i thoughi better post my indervidule problem to you guys...

As far as i know the problem has come out of knoware.. there has been no new programs installed, and the compuer was fine.. but i have noticed, i think in trying to remove the login screen to windows, that an odd profile has been removed from the computer, that i think was created by the shop that previously fixed the computer.. this is all i can think woul dhave done it.. but im not sure if it would have had anny effect.

I have quized my dad about how the shop fixed the computer, but with his memory he thinks it was that they simply uninstalled AVG Anti Spyware, that was preventing the IP adress to refresh, althogh i dont think it was such a simple thing.. espeshaly as it seemes they created there own login for the computer..

The computer is meant to link to a router, that in turn is connected to a BT home hub for the internet, there are three other working computers on the network, all running in windows XP proffesional..

Feel free to ask any questions.. i dont know if i have missed anything out.. Thanks for your help.. Sam..
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2.

For these commands, Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt.

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

Reboot the machine.



Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

Type the following command:

IPCONFIG /ALL

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
 

sirspammer

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 12, 2006
Messages
74
Cheers.. here is the result.. ALso i noticed the lights on the router are on, and the computer is still sending, but not reciving packets.. incase that has any relevance..


Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Lou>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : LOULOU
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : home

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 3:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8168/8111 PCI-E Gigabit E
thernet NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-17-31-30-E3-1D
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.69
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 07 July 2007 19:04:35
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 08 July 2007 19:04:35

C:\Documents and Settings\Lou>
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2007
Messages
639
Are you using Firefox or IE?

If IE, on IE menu,

Tools-Internet Options-Connections-Lan settings

Uncheck the box below Proxy Server, click ok

Then try it.

If you are using Firefox, may be more complicated.
 

sirspammer

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 12, 2006
Messages
74
IE.. the thing was unchecked.. but.. just as the connection dissapeared it is now working again.. i have just left the computer on for the day while i have been trying to fix it and it is now working.. nonone has toched it..

Unless the ipconfig would have fixed something....

so i spose i should mark it as solved.. anyone have any ideas though.. as it will likely happen again as we dont know the problem
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

No members online now.
Top