1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Distorted Picture on VGA to TV

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by birtwistle, Nov 19, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. birtwistle

    birtwistle Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    When I connect my computer to my 20" Sharp LCD HDTV via VGA, the TV only offers two options to change viewing mode, one being a sidebar display and the other being a stretched display. This is incredibly annoying as this is only the case for the VGA input and not for any of the other connections (composite, component, S-Video, HDMI). These other connections also allow you to zoom in on the the picture rather than to just stretch it.

    I am almost completely sure there is nothing I can do on the TV end of the problem, so If I set up the TV to "stretched", is there a way I can counteract the stretch on the computer so that the picture appears normal? Thank you in advance and I apologize if I posted this in the wrong category.

    - James

    Computer: Dell Inspiron 1525 (2008)
    OS: Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Premium, Service Pack 2, 32 bit
    Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo CPU T5800 @ 2.00GHz, x64 Family 6 Model 15 Stepping 13
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 3 GB
    Graphics Card: Mobile Intel(R) 965 Express Chipset Family, 448 Mb
    Hard Drives: 320 GB Western Digital internal (SATA)
    Motherboard: Dell Inc., 0U990C
    Antivirus: Microsoft Security Essentials
     
  2. ringowheelin

    ringowheelin

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    I havent used vista but in XP or 7: (probly similar in vista I'll give ya both routes, use wichever looks closer to what you have)
    Right click go to XP: properties (7: personalize, display, adjust resolution) play with the settings (make sure monitor 2 is highlighted or your in for a slight surprise). Ive noticed after a few adjusts of the reolution the pc and tv seem to click and know what resolutions work and will only offer those options... try purposely choosing wierd sizes so they will have to circumvent you and figure it out on their own :)
     
  3. ringowheelin

    ringowheelin

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Oh ps, your probably best off leaving the tv in normal mode, not stretched.
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,854
    what screen resolution is your PC set to ?
    changing the screen resolution may help

    also whats the native resolution of the TV ? - should be listed in the user manual - post exact model
     
  5. birtwistle

    birtwistle Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Here is a list of specs for the TV (Sharp LC-20SH20U), I could not find any information whatsoever about this particular device on Sharp's website. http://reviews.cnet.com/4507-3118_7-32089083.html

    The VGA input on this screen seems to have a maximum resolution of 800x600.

    I've tried various changes to the resolution and nothing seems to work besides 800x600. This is also true on my mac which offers lower resolutions which also work.

    I've also tried changing the resolution on both the stock vista controller and the intel graphics controller.
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,854
    if the max resolution is 800x600 then thats the max you can use

    which gives an aspect ration of
    4:3

    so will not work on a wide screen TV to provide full screen -

    is that what is happening?
     
  7. birtwistle

    birtwistle Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Yes, that is what is happening, but if you set the TV mode to stretch the picture will fill the entire screen. I was curious if there is a way to counteract the stretch on the computer while still telling the TV the resolution is still 800x600.
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,854
    dont think so
    anything wrong with just using the 800x600 4:3 format on the TV ?
     
  9. birtwistle

    birtwistle Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    It is certainly viewable, but when watching widescreen movies, the picture is completely recessed inside a black box, which is somewhat of a problem on such a small tv.
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,854
    others may help - i dont know of another solution
     
  11. birtwistle

    birtwistle Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    I appreciate your help nonetheless.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1027495