1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

DIVX movie........... Help

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by C-Jack, Jan 28, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. C-Jack

C-Jack Thread Starter

I have very little knowledge about DIVX movies and wondering how I can go about playing them.

I have 17 Divx Movies (dvd) that they say require a registered DIVX player..... I belive that these are the kind that you "pay per use" Is there software that will allow me to play them (unlock) on my PC? or are they...junk?

2. Moby

Moby

Where did you get the movies from?

3. C-Jack

C-Jack Thread Starter

A friend that I work with bought them at a garage sale....not knowing that they were DIVX, He gave them to me thinking I might be able to do something with them.

4. Moby

Moby

I'll assume they are legal copies of something. If not we can help you no further.
    To view them download the DivX codec from here
    http://www.free-codecs.com/download/DivX_Free.htm
    It's been a while since I installed it but during the install process, choose the free version. You do not need the DivX player either if it dives you the choice as this will allow you to watch them through Windows Media Player.

5. C-Jack

C-Jack Thread Starter

Yes they are legal , Here is one of them

Attached Files:

• GD.jpg
      GD.jpg
      File size:
      121.4 KB
      Views:
  6. Moby

Moby

I see the small print on the back says it has a limited viewing period when new. You may be out of luck. You'll need that codec to try though.

7. C-Jack

C-Jack Thread Starter