DLink 624+ Router disconnecting problems :(

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Starhunter

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 10, 2006
Messages
6
Hello,

Im quite the noob when it comes to anything to do with computer technicalities. So please bare with me!

Details,
- I have 3 connections to my wireless router consisting of myself using a belkin 802.11g wireless card and the other 2 connected by USB.

Problems
I am currently getting disconnected when another computer switches on and connects to the router. From here 3 different things happen,

1) I can reconnect to the router and have a stable connection for 2-5 minutes.
2) I disable/enable and a cannot connect to the router
3) I disable/enable, make a connection to the router and appear that i am receiving the interenet but it doesn't work!~

Problem #2
I sometimes! once every 8 hours or so randomly get disconnected, and i can then reconnect without a problem... usually...

If anyone knows what the problem is !! please advise! Much appreciated!
hint: Im thinkin its got somethin to do with an ip conflict...
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,478
does this only happen with one PC
the other two are always connected and have no problems at all?
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2005
Messages
146
it could be an ip conflict. make sure that all computers connected are selected to obtain an ip automatically
how good of a connection do you have when you are actually connected? I have seen similar problems from a person with just a cruddy connection to their router.

i have also seen a recuring theme of suckiness coming from usb wireless adapters. if you can, i would go out and get a pci wireless card or two. they're relatively simple to install (be carefull you arnt voiding warrenty if you have a premade computer)

at any rate...the best solution to wireless woes is to go wired. even if it's across the house, i was surprised at how easy it is to just run wires through the walls.
 

Starhunter

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 10, 2006
Messages
6
Both computers are disconnecting, if 1 can connect the other can too..

I know my option is set to '' obtain ip automatically '' but i haven't checked the others yet, i'll have to wait till they wake up.

My connection is really bad via the wireless network, im running optus cable and getting 54mbps while the other 2 comps get 100mbps... I range around 60-99% consistantly as im connected to the router... Any other suggestions?
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,478
if you could post an IPCONFIG /ALL -see below - for all the machines and label them so we know which is which.
also do all the ping tests - see below
Do this for when working and repeat for when disconnected

and download and run this software - see what the characteristics are of the wireless and other in area
Free software to check signal strength of wireless is netstumbler 0.4.0 available for download from http://www.stumbler.net/

TWO Methods to do that - some people have problems with ONE----

ONE ---------------------------------
start
run
cmd
ipconfig /all

rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

TWO -----------------------------------------------

Start, Run, CMD to open a DOS window and type:

IPCONFIG /ALL >C:\RESULT.TXT

Open C:\RESULT.TXT with Notepad and copy/paste the entire results here.


NEXT lets see if you can get out onto the internet with both names and IP's - its possible the IP number you get back on the first test is different to the one I post {I'm in UK} so use the number you get instead of mine

------------------------------------------------
try ping the name and then the IP see below

start
run
cmd

C:\Documents and Settings\wayne>ping {the default gateway ipaddress you got above }


C:\Documents and Settings\wayne>ping google.com
Pinging google.com [64.233.187.99] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=120ms TTL=243
Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=107ms TTL=243
Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=102ms TTL=243
Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=101ms TTL=243

Ping statistics for 64.233.187.99:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 101ms, Maximum = 120ms, Average = 107ms

C:\Documents and Settings\wayne>ping 64.233.187.991
Ping request could not find host 64.233.187.991. Please check the name and try a
gain.
C:\Documents and Settings\wayne>ping 64.233.187.99
Pinging 64.233.187.99 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=116ms TTL=243
Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=113ms TTL=243
Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=113ms TTL=243
Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=111ms TTL=243

Ping statistics for 64.233.187.99:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 111ms, Maximum = 116ms, Average = 113ms

C:\Documents and Settings\wayne>
 

Starhunter

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 10, 2006
Messages
6
Windows IP Configuration



Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : nicks-comp

Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :

Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown

IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : vic.bigpond.net.au



Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:



Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected

Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller

Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-01-29-D5-77-DB



Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 3:



Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : vic.bigpond.net.au

Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Belkin 802.11g Wireless Card

Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-11-50-13-6C-82

Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes

Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.99

Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0

Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1

DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1

Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, 14 July 2006 3:15:04 PM

Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, 21 July 2006 3:15:04 PM
 

Starhunter

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 10, 2006
Messages
6
Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:



Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=127

Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=127

Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=127

Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=127



Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:

Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),

Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:

Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 1ms, Average = 1ms





Pinging google.com [64.233.187.99] with 32 bytes of data:



Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=256ms TTL=239

Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=266ms TTL=239

Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=259ms TTL=239

Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=258ms TTL=239



Ping statistics for 64.233.187.99: (google)

Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),

Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:

Minimum = 256ms, Maximum = 266ms, Average = 259ms


Hope this helps! just a bunch of random numbers to me :(

Any chance you could let me in on a secret on how to get my 54.mps up to 100 ? as i run cable :/

Cheers for any help given in advance~!*
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,478
well it looks like you can communicate with the router and with the outside world
can you ping google.com
 

Starhunter

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 10, 2006
Messages
6
Yeh, i can use my router / net... its just that my internet drops out randomly for a short period of time like 6 times every 24 hour period.

>ping google was completed above.. the 2nd set of info
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,478
sorry mised that
when it drops out can you repeat
Ping the gateway
Ping the Google Name
Ping the Google Number

that way we can see if its a DNS problem

3 seperate pings - with stats
 

Starhunter

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 10, 2006
Messages
6
Will do next time it drops out.

Another problem which ive come to is... between the 3 computers linked up here at home, they both get 100mbps connections and i only get a crappy 54mbps. Which with my computer specs i should be able to play my PC games online just fine.. But i get this terrible lagggg due to my internet connection, Which just happens to be cable, but i can only have 54mbps of it :(.. Anyone know how i can change that ?

Im presuming that with wireless it only has a capability of having 54mbps connections while USB can have 100.... anyone know if i can change it
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2004
Messages
7,235
54 is the max for wireless without speedboosintg and other things that are more propritary to specific manufacturers. also remember wireless is only half duplex and all of this is internal network speed and NOT internet speed. this internet speed is dependant upon the ISP and how much data they provide you. Then you have to kind of divy up the internet signal among the users (not in equal amounts as one client may take more than another client)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top