1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

DLink 624+ Router disconnecting problems :(

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Starhunter, Jul 10, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Starhunter

    Starhunter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Hello,

    Im quite the noob when it comes to anything to do with computer technicalities. So please bare with me!

    Details,
    - I have 3 connections to my wireless router consisting of myself using a belkin 802.11g wireless card and the other 2 connected by USB.

    Problems
    I am currently getting disconnected when another computer switches on and connects to the router. From here 3 different things happen,

    1) I can reconnect to the router and have a stable connection for 2-5 minutes.
    2) I disable/enable and a cannot connect to the router
    3) I disable/enable, make a connection to the router and appear that i am receiving the interenet but it doesn't work!~

    Problem #2
    I sometimes! once every 8 hours or so randomly get disconnected, and i can then reconnect without a problem... usually...

    If anyone knows what the problem is !! please advise! Much appreciated!
    hint: Im thinkin its got somethin to do with an ip conflict...
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
    does this only happen with one PC
    the other two are always connected and have no problems at all?
     
  3. mphair

    mphair

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    Messages:
    146
    it could be an ip conflict. make sure that all computers connected are selected to obtain an ip automatically
    how good of a connection do you have when you are actually connected? I have seen similar problems from a person with just a cruddy connection to their router.

    i have also seen a recuring theme of suckiness coming from usb wireless adapters. if you can, i would go out and get a pci wireless card or two. they're relatively simple to install (be carefull you arnt voiding warrenty if you have a premade computer)

    at any rate...the best solution to wireless woes is to go wired. even if it's across the house, i was surprised at how easy it is to just run wires through the walls.
     
  4. Starhunter

    Starhunter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Both computers are disconnecting, if 1 can connect the other can too..

    I know my option is set to '' obtain ip automatically '' but i haven't checked the others yet, i'll have to wait till they wake up.

    My connection is really bad via the wireless network, im running optus cable and getting 54mbps while the other 2 comps get 100mbps... I range around 60-99% consistantly as im connected to the router... Any other suggestions?
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
    if you could post an IPCONFIG /ALL -see below - for all the machines and label them so we know which is which.
    also do all the ping tests - see below
    Do this for when working and repeat for when disconnected

    and download and run this software - see what the characteristics are of the wireless and other in area
    Free software to check signal strength of wireless is netstumbler 0.4.0 available for download from http://www.stumbler.net/

    TWO Methods to do that - some people have problems with ONE----

    ONE ---------------------------------
    start
    run
    cmd
    ipconfig /all

    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    TWO -----------------------------------------------

    Start, Run, CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    IPCONFIG /ALL >C:\RESULT.TXT

    Open C:\RESULT.TXT with Notepad and copy/paste the entire results here.


    NEXT lets see if you can get out onto the internet with both names and IP's - its possible the IP number you get back on the first test is different to the one I post {I'm in UK} so use the number you get instead of mine

    ------------------------------------------------
    try ping the name and then the IP see below

    start
    run
    cmd

    C:\Documents and Settings\wayne>ping {the default gateway ipaddress you got above }


    C:\Documents and Settings\wayne>ping google.com
    C:\Documents and Settings\wayne>ping 64.233.187.99
     
  6. Starhunter

    Starhunter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Windows IP Configuration



    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : nicks-comp

    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :

    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown

    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : vic.bigpond.net.au



    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:



    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-01-29-D5-77-DB



    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 3:



    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : vic.bigpond.net.au

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Belkin 802.11g Wireless Card

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-11-50-13-6C-82

    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes

    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.99

    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0

    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1

    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1

    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, 14 July 2006 3:15:04 PM

    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, 21 July 2006 3:15:04 PM
     
  7. Starhunter

    Starhunter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:



    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=127

    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=127

    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=127

    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=127



    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:

    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),

    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:

    Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 1ms, Average = 1ms





    Pinging google.com [64.233.187.99] with 32 bytes of data:



    Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=256ms TTL=239

    Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=266ms TTL=239

    Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=259ms TTL=239

    Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=258ms TTL=239



    Ping statistics for 64.233.187.99: (google)

    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),

    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:

    Minimum = 256ms, Maximum = 266ms, Average = 259ms


    Hope this helps! just a bunch of random numbers to me :(

    Any chance you could let me in on a secret on how to get my 54.mps up to 100 ? as i run cable :/

    Cheers for any help given in advance~!*
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
    well it looks like you can communicate with the router and with the outside world
    can you ping google.com
     
  9. Starhunter

    Starhunter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Yeh, i can use my router / net... its just that my internet drops out randomly for a short period of time like 6 times every 24 hour period.

    >ping google was completed above.. the 2nd set of info
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
    sorry mised that
    when it drops out can you repeat
    Ping the gateway
    Ping the Google Name
    Ping the Google Number

    that way we can see if its a DNS problem

    3 seperate pings - with stats
     
  11. Starhunter

    Starhunter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Will do next time it drops out.

    Another problem which ive come to is... between the 3 computers linked up here at home, they both get 100mbps connections and i only get a crappy 54mbps. Which with my computer specs i should be able to play my PC games online just fine.. But i get this terrible lagggg due to my internet connection, Which just happens to be cable, but i can only have 54mbps of it :(.. Anyone know how i can change that ?

    Im presuming that with wireless it only has a capability of having 54mbps connections while USB can have 100.... anyone know if i can change it
     
  12. StumpedTechy

    StumpedTechy

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    7,235
    54 is the max for wireless without speedboosintg and other things that are more propritary to specific manufacturers. also remember wireless is only half duplex and all of this is internal network speed and NOT internet speed. this internet speed is dependant upon the ISP and how much data they provide you. Then you have to kind of divy up the internet signal among the users (not in equal amounts as one client may take more than another client)
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/482074

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice