1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

dlink NAT/firewall problem

Discussion in 'Networking' started by acpo, Feb 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. acpo

    acpo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    174
    I have dlink gamerlounge DGL-4100

    I want a way to disable the NAT & firewall completely. I want it to route traffic but not block any ports. a lot of my applications are broken. how do I do this? :(
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,944
    First Name:
    Terry
    I didn't find a User Guide online, so maybe you'll have to read whatever one came with your router. That router claims to have greatly advanced technology, but I seriously doubt that it contains any technology to route traffic w/o using Network Address Translation. The simple way to disable NAT is just don't connect anything to the WAN port.
     
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    NAT "is" how a router functions, if you disable NAT, you disabled the routing function. In order to support multiple IP addresses on a single public IP address, you need the NAT function.
     
  4. acpo

    acpo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    174
    well, I've disabled the firewall but incoming ports are still being blocked and that's resulting in tons of stuff not working :(
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You need to use port forwarding for specific ports to specific machines to pass the requests through the NAT layer of the router. Rather than try to guess specifics of your router and your application, visit www.portforward.com, they have many tutorials on how to port forward for most router models.
     
  6. acpo

    acpo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    174
    I've forwarded the ports but I'm still getting things blocked

    I'm getting lots of these

    Code:
    [INFO] Wed Feb 04 02:21:02 2004 Blocked incoming TCP packet from 83.184.111.245:30087 to 69.129.203.171:4120 as PSH:ACK received but there is no active connection
    [INFO] Wed Feb 04 02:20:20 2004 Blocked incoming TCP packet from 91.4.18.248:60275 to 69.129.203.171:4436 as SYN:ACK received but there is no active connection
    [INFO] Wed Feb 04 02:20:15 2004 Blocked incoming TCP packet from 91.4.18.248:60270 to 69.129.203.171:4436 as SYN:ACK received but there is no active connection
    [INFO] Wed Feb 04 02:20:12 2004 Blocked incoming TCP packet from 91.4.18.248:60262 to 69.129.203.171:4436 as SYN:ACK received but there is no active connection
    [INFO] Wed Feb 04 02:20:09 2004 Previous message repeated 1 time
    [INFO] Wed Feb 04 02:19:32 2004 Blocked incoming TCP packet from 84.25.114.239:61097 to 69.129.203.171:4352 as SYN:ACK received but there is no active connection
    [INFO] Wed Feb 04 02:19:23 2004 Previous message repeated 2 times
    [INFO] Wed Feb 04 02:16:58 2004 Blocked incoming TCP packet from 84.25.114.239:60684 to 69.129.203.171:4059 as SYN:ACK received but there is no active connection
    [INFO] Wed Feb 04 02:16:49 2004 Previous message repeated 2 times
    [INFO] Wed Feb 04 02:15:22 2004 Blocked incoming ICMP error message (ICMP type 3) from 81.179.119.219 to 69.129.203.171 as there is no UDP session active between 69.129.203.171:59122 and 192.168.1.2:49152
    [INFO] Wed Feb 04 02:15:01 2004 Blocked outgoing ICMP packet (ICMP type 3) from 192.168.0.10 to 72.27.37.207
    [INFO] Wed Feb 04 02:15:01 2004 Blocked outgoing ICMP packet (ICMP type 3) from 192.168.0.10 to 85.219.142.7
    I'm pretty sure it's thinking things are malicious that really aren't. you can set computers "out of the demilitarized zone" (their words), but even that doesn't help
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/544533

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice