dll error message

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

norco12

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2002
Messages
178
xp window open shows these error messages ---"error loading C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM 32\NvCpl.dll a dynamic link library intialization routine failed" and "The Precedure entry point GETIUMS could not be located in the Dynamic link library MSDART. DLL". action took place after a video card driver install, monitor setting change and subsequent crash. please advise
 

Cheeseball81

Retired Moderator
Joined
Mar 3, 2004
Messages
84,315
Nvcpl.dll is part of NVIDIA's Display Properties Extension. Reinstall the
drivers and that should fix it. If not see Nvidias website for more info.

Hope this helps

Also, meant to ask...are you sure the other one said MSCART? I was trying to find it and only found MSDART.
 

norco12

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2002
Messages
178
i unchecked NvCpl at ms config to solve that error message but "The Procedure entry point GETIUMS could not be located in the Dynamic link library MSDART.DLL " still shows on windows opening. please advise
 

Cheeseball81

Retired Moderator
Joined
Mar 3, 2004
Messages
84,315
Or try this (found at http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/xp_abc.htm)

Msdart.dll Problems, Error Messages and Workarounds and Suggestions
"The procedure entry point GetIUMS could not be found in the dynamic link library MSDART.DLL."

1. This is caused by Windows XP improperly naming the msdart dll file. Download (save) DARTFIX.BAT to your desktop and click on it. This will make a copy of MSDART.DLL and name it MSDART32.DLL. It will be placed in the Windows/System32 directory. This should allow you to run the InfoBase CD.

2. Start/Search for file msdart*.* on your computer.

Should be found in:

C:\I386
C:\Winnt or Windows\System32
C:\Winnt or Windows\ServicePackFiles\i386

3. Microsoft Data Access Components (MDAC) 2.8

"unregmp2.exe - Entry Point Not Found - The procedure entry point GetIUMS could not be located in the dynamic link library MSDART.DLL".

When the problem occurs, press Shift +F10 to bring up the command prompt. Then type taskmgr.exe in the DOS window
and press Enter. The Task Manager should be started. If not, try to press C+Shift+ESC. In the Task Manager program, select the error message window in the
application list and click "End Task". In the process list, terminate the unregmp2.exe program. Exit the DOS prompt window and resume the installation process.

Note: In some cases: There is another step needed - killing the error may not be enough.

Shift+F10, kill the process, WinXP should continue loading, and around 23 MORE minutes left to go, the monitor will flash several times. Don't panic.

Once loaded, get past the "Microsoft in a box" screens: next, finish. Once on the desktop, log in a user with system admin capabilities (hopefully you still have one). Go to
C:\windows\sr.inf. Right click and select Install. It will ask for sr.sys. Get this OFF the CD!!! The one on C: is corrupt. On the CD, under the I386
folder, you will find sr.sy_. Double click it and it SHOULD decompress itself and load. (Microsoft tech suggests as a convenience, load directory
I386 from CD to C: (root) for ease of use NEXT TIME you have a problem!

That is the fix for the MSDart, repair/reinstall WinXP problem.

2. The next problem to fix will be the DSL and WinSta.dll problems. Your instructions from your ISP tells you to use the Network Connection
Wizard and do some stuff, then select Broadband, use user ID and password. However, the Wizard has disabled this option. AND you find you cannot make
system restore points. And if you open up My Computer, right click on some white space in the window and click properties, you will get 'procedure
entry point RemoteAssistancePrepareSystemRestore could not be located in the dynamic link library winsta.dll. These problems are solved simultaneously
by:

a. Right click My Computer. Manage, Services and Applications, Services. Find Remote Access Connection Manager (on either tab). Right click,
Properties. On the General tab, Startup Type listbox, change Manual to Automatic. Apply. Ok. Restart your machine.

b. Log in as a user that has System Admin capabilities. Start, Run, Regedit. Find HKLM\system\Current Control Set\services\rasman\ppp\eap.
Export the node by selecting, File, Export. (This creates a backup in case of screw-up. If you don't know how to import, maybe you shouldn't be doing
this.) Once this is done, under EAP is a folder/key 25. Delete it. Also delete folder/key 26. (These are the keys for the connection wizard. MS
will not tell you how to modify the keys for the desired result, you must delete them. Or run this edit.

c. Reboot.

Now you SHOULD be able to connect to DSL or recreate your connection as per your ISP's instructions. System restore will now work. You should perhaps
create a restore point for fun. Start, Help, Performance and maintenance, Using System Restore to undo changes, Run the System Restore Wizard, Create
a system restore point.

BTW, you cannot create a dial-up connection using the Wizard. To do this, bring up your browser. If IE, select tools, Internet Options,
connections tab. Select Add. Dial up to private network, next, phone number .. Once done, the connection will be listed with the Network
Wizards and other connections you have off Start, Settings.. or Control Panel, Network Connections.

If these fixes didn't work, MS's next solution involves installing XP to a separate place on your machine. This too ought not remove your data. Once
installed, your DATA, not applications, should be transferrable between OSs. The last option you don't want to know!
 

norco12

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2002
Messages
178
thanks for your interest cheesball81. alot to do - keep you posted.
 

norco12

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2002
Messages
178
ran mdac 2.8 and voila! - no error message. thanks again for your interest and generousity.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top