1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

dll files

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by sugarsweet, Jan 25, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sugarsweet

    sugarsweet Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    why cant i opened dll files using the winzip says invalid archive?
     
  2. Davey7549

    Davey7549

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    11,584
    sugarsweet
    Welcome to TSG!
    If you are referring to .dll (Dynamic Link Libraries) files they are program files and cannot be opened using a Zip program. Zip programs are used to compress and decompress folders for storage savings or E-mail purposes.
    What programs are you trying to open?

    Dave

    PS: Opps said directory link library and meant Dynamic!!!:p ;)
     
  3. pyritechips

    pyritechips Gone but Never Forgotten

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2002
    Messages:
    26,907
    First Name:
    Jim
    <img src="http://forums.techguy.org/attachment.php?s=&postid=697494">

    Hello!

    Winzip can't open .dll files. Winzip opens .zip files. .dll files are libraries of information used by other program files, such as the .exe files.

    May I ask why you are trying to "open" a .dll file?
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Davey7549

    Davey7549

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    11,584
    Sugarsweet PM'd me with additional information related to the problem.

    PM=
    -------------------------------------------
    Hello, and thank you for your response the files I need are
    msnp32.dll,msvcp60.dll just for starters lol.... the computer is my daughters and how in god's name she lost them I will never know, is there anyway i can get them and copy on a floppy and put them in or would the dynamic library work for all..

    nice to meet ya ...here from Pennslyvania

    Sugar
    ------------------------------------------------------

    Sugarsweet

    Pleased to meet you also. I will post this message to the thread you started so other can follow and help if need be. It appears your client for microsoft networks may be messed up and needs to removed and re-added. There are other items usually associated with this problem vredir.vxd, dfs.vxd and a few others. Hopefully we are going after the correct problem.

    Also no there are hundreds of different .dll files so you must supply the correct ones missing.

    If the two .vxd's are also involved in the missing items then follow procedure below. If not then let us know what the .dlls are and we can instruct on how to extract those from the install CD.

    Also what operating system are they using?

    Procedure:
    Have them try this first and they may need the Install CD if the system prompts for it.

    1) Go to Start\settings\control panel\network\general tab
    2) Locate Client for Microsoft Networks highlight and click remove.
    You may get an error Network is incomplete and if so select no.
    3) Click the add tab and select Client for Microsoft Networks and click OK.

    Dave
     
  5. Davey7549

    Davey7549

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    11,584
    Sugar PM'd

    ok have windows 98SE version 4.10.2222, ok now the big problem is have no cd recoverys for this computer so everything has to be loaded i guess by floppy, not sure, files so far it says when i get it up and started is
    vnetsup.vxd
    vredir.vxd
    dfs.vxd ok on screen i can get from there clicking to continue then comes up needs msvcp60.dll,msnp32.dll then next box says needs dynamic library......am i making any sense? i sure hope so been working on this for about 3 days now..

    once again thanks
    __________________
    Sugarsweet

    Sugarsweet the problem you are describing is the one I thought it was. As far as loading from Floppy it is possible but you have to have a source for it.
    Lets try this.
    Go to start\find and type in each of the files you listed above one at a time and see if they are on your system in the C:\Windows\System folder. They may be there and the client is just messed up. If not then I will look and see if they can be had at one of my dll library sights.

    Dave
     
  6. Davey7549

    Davey7549

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    11,584
    Sugarsweet
    Computers can be frustrating at times especially when people download or load programs without researching what they do.
    You can go Here, once there click the Dll search tab, then the start search tab. Type in the dll's one at a time and download them to a floppy. Then .vxd files missing are another matter so I will have to research where you can get them from. You may have all these on the 98 machine within cab files but lets proceed this way first.
    Once you have accumulated all the .dll files on floppy the copy them to the Win98 machine and place them in the C:\Windows\System folder.

    Meantime I will look for the .vxds

    Dave

    PS: No more PM's! Please post your replys using the post reply tab at bottom of this thread.
     
  7. Davey7549

    Davey7549

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    11,584
    Sugarsweet
    Go Here and see if you can locate the vnetsup.vxd, vredir.vxd, dfs.vxd drivers. You will be required to sign in and also make sure it is for Win98SE.

    If not found then we will have to see if the .cab files exist on the 98SE machine and extract those.

    Will await your response.

    Dave
     
  8. sugarsweet

    sugarsweet Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    went to the site u sent me could not find vredir.vxd and vnetsup.vxd.dfs.vxd files, please let me know where else
     
  9. Davey7549

    Davey7549

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    11,584
    Sugarsweet
    Then we need to see if the .cab files exist on the Win98SE system. Go to start\find and type in *.cab then enter. There should be many listed if the C:\Windows\Options or Install folder if they are there. If so then we have a shot on using SFC to extract them too C:\Windows\System folder. If not then you are going to have to find a copy of someones Win98 install CD so you can extract them from there.

    Let us know what you find with the search.

    Dave
     
  10. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/115278

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice