.dll problem (inetcfg.dll)

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

hazzarduk1

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 2, 2003
Messages
240
i have just been installing a new isp, i registered online just goin to download the last files for it... and i get an error "unable to load cofiguration library (inetcfg.dll)"

anyone know how to fix this?
 

700mb80min

Banned
Joined
Jul 24, 2003
Messages
2,025
Hi hazzarduk1 ,

Click Start, point to Find, and then click Files or Folders.
In the Named box, type inetwiz.exe, and then click Find Now.
In the list of files returned, double-click Inetwiz.exe.
 

hazzarduk1

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 2, 2003
Messages
240
i have added this file, i copied from a friend, this is the exact new error

"cannot load the internet configuration library (icfg95.dll). The following error occurred: one of the library files needed to run this application cannot be found"

there is a 2nd error after that which says

"The inetcfg.dll file cannont start. check the file to determine the problem"
 

hazzarduk1

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 2, 2003
Messages
240
im used windows 98 second edition, the dll is in c:/windows/system

one other thing, does it matter if the .dll name is in block capitals? the exact filename is INETCFG.DLL
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2003
Messages
1,457
ok, that is the proper location for that Dll , for that OS. No it isn't case sensitve . Perhaps you got a bad file ? You could try to d/l another,and try again. Remember to re-boot after installation . :p
 

hazzarduk1

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 2, 2003
Messages
240
THEROACH said:
ok, that is the proper location for that Dll , for that OS. No it isn't case sensitve . Perhaps you got a bad file ? You could try to d/l another,and try again. Remember to re-boot after installation . :p
i have tried the link u gave me, it came back with 2 results for inetcfg.dll one is block capitals, 1 isnt... any difference in each file? reboot? i havnt done that after adding a .dll to c:windows/system, could that be the problem?
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2003
Messages
1,457
I'm really not aware of case sensitive DLL's , but I may be wrong . Your best bet would be to d/l the same as you were prompted , just in case . And yes re-booting will be neccesary for Windows to locate the new addition .
Good Luck !!
 

hazzarduk1

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 2, 2003
Messages
240
restarting isnt changing anything, same errors :(

im getting2 different errors from both of the files though lol
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top