dns error

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

gaftop1

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 20, 2003
Messages
823
have a shop about 300 yards from my house network . put a linksys router setup as a repeater to pick up the house network signal. the router says i've joined the network both my desktop and laptop say i've joined the network but we are not getting internet. at the bottom of the page it says dns error.

help!
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
5,146
Have you tried to do a DNS flush? (run, cmd>ipconfig /flushdns>enter)
Vicks
 

gaftop1

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 20, 2003
Messages
823
isn't it the router that's causing all computers from not working? or does it flush the router too? not too up on networking.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
5,146
I didn't understand that this was on all pcs.
Have you tried resetting the router?
Vicks
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,397
Not going to hurt doing the flushdns. Maybe all computers have the same problem. :)

Let's see for one of the PCs ...

Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
(For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

Type the following command:

IPCONFIG /ALL

[Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
 

gaftop1

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 20, 2003
Messages
823
another tid bit of information. on the linksys wrt54g tm router there are a small green power light, a small green wireless light, and a large white wireless light. the 2 small green lights are on the large white is not.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,397
Unusual (to me) for there to be more than one wireless LED. What do those conditions indicate?
 

gaftop1

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 20, 2003
Messages
823
this is the actual error on the wireless computer "res://c: \windows\system32\shdoclc.dll/dns error.htm" not sure of the spaces
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top