1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

dns error

Discussion in 'Networking' started by gaftop1, Apr 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. gaftop1

    gaftop1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Messages:
    823
    have a shop about 300 yards from my house network . put a linksys router setup as a repeater to pick up the house network signal. the router says i've joined the network both my desktop and laptop say i've joined the network but we are not getting internet. at the bottom of the page it says dns error.

    help!
     
  2. vicks

    vicks

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    5,145
    Have you tried to do a DNS flush? (run, cmd>ipconfig /flushdns>enter)
    Vicks
     
  3. gaftop1

    gaftop1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Messages:
    823
    isn't it the router that's causing all computers from not working? or does it flush the router too? not too up on networking.
     
  4. vicks

    vicks

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    5,145
    I didn't understand that this was on all pcs.
    Have you tried resetting the router?
    Vicks
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,819
    First Name:
    Terry
    Not going to hurt doing the flushdns. Maybe all computers have the same problem. :)

    Let's see for one of the PCs ...

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  6. gaftop1

    gaftop1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Messages:
    823
    can't do it until tomorrow. let you know then. thanx
     
  7. gaftop1

    gaftop1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Messages:
    823
    another tid bit of information. on the linksys wrt54g tm router there are a small green power light, a small green wireless light, and a large white wireless light. the 2 small green lights are on the large white is not.
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,819
    First Name:
    Terry
    Unusual (to me) for there to be more than one wireless LED. What do those conditions indicate?
     
  9. gaftop1

    gaftop1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Messages:
    823
    this is the actual error on the wireless computer "res://c: \windows\system32\shdoclc.dll/dns error.htm" not sure of the spaces
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/915440

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice