1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

DNS Issues. Please help!

Discussion in 'Networking' started by thigs1, Jun 4, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. thigs1

    thigs1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Please Help! When I plug my desktop into my wireless router I have slow internet but when I plug directly into the modem I have no connection at all. It says "cannot connect to primary DNS server". I'm using a Motorla SURBOARD SB6121 and a NETGEAR WPN824V2 Wireless Router. When I do ipconig /all this is what I get:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Users\Thigs>ipconfig /all
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Thigs-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : F8-0F-41-40-A4-2F
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::3c9c:6d55:b276:205%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.2(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, June 04, 2012 9:30:59 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, June 05, 2012 9:21:14 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 200806209
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-16-A2-FD-B8-F8-0F-41-40-A4-2F
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{5139400D-86F4-49C2-9E9A-13E55F596205}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:18d1:307d:bc44:c8c2(Pref
    erred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::18d1:307d:bc44:c8c2%13(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
    C:\Users\Thigs>

    Any ideas on how to fix this. It's quite irritating. Thanks!
     
  2. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    What is 10.0.0.1?

    Try setting it to automatic. But keep track of the current settings in case you want to go back.
     
  3. thigs1

    thigs1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    How do I switch it to automatic?
     
  4. thigs1

    thigs1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Nevermind, I switched it to automatic and it still shows the same.
     
  5. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Ipconfig is the same even with automatic gateway and IP assignment?

    Why do you think it is a DNS problem?

    Can you get to sites without using DNS?

    http://209.183.226.152/
     
  6. thigs1

    thigs1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    I went into "network and sharing center" and "properties" under Local Area Connection and made sure under TCP/IPv4 that Obtain IP Address Automatically was selected as was Obtain DNS server Automatically was selected. They both are. This is what I get now with Ipconfig /all:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Users\Thigs>ipconfig /all
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Thigs-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : F8-0F-41-40-A4-2F
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::3c9c:6d55:b276:205%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.2(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, June 04, 2012 10:23:47 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, June 05, 2012 10:23:47 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 200806209
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-16-A2-FD-B8-F8-0F-41-40-A4-2F
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{5139400D-86F4-49C2-9E9A-13E55F596205}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:14d0:88f:bc44:c8c2(Prefe
    rred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::14d0:88f:bc44:c8c2%13(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
    C:\Users\Thigs>
     
  7. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    It's the same as the manual settings. How about whether you can connect to a site without using DNS?
     
  8. alaa2345

    alaa2345

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    your pb NOT with your laptop or your router ... the internet provider server cant give you IP adress , i suggest you 2 steps :
    1- Reconfigure /reset/ your router and try it after installing your user name + password
    2- if this not work then all what you have to do is calling your ISP .
     
  9. alaa2345

    alaa2345

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    ah btw : the ip adress : 10.0.0.* cant be made from ISP so i think if you reset your router this will be fixed
     
  10. dlsayremn

    dlsayremn

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,852
    Is the IPCONFIG /ALL from a connection to the router?
    If that is a router connection, what do you get connected directly to the modem?

    With the computer connected to the router and a working connection from the router to the modem, what is listed on the Router Status page for the Internet Port.

    MAC address
    IP address
    DHCP
    Subnetmask
    Domain Nane Server
     
  11. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,995
    That DNS message can be a generic message.

    When connected to the router can you click on these links and tell us which one works:

    http://www.google.com -- http://74.125.227.130

    If the second one works but not the first one, then you indeed will have a DNS issue.

    As dlsayremn mentioned, if you go direct to the modem instead of the router, do you get the same results with those links? If so, then in Command Prompt, type cls then press enter first, then type in nslookup google.com and press enter. Then right click on the black screen, choose select all, press enter then paste the results here.
     
  12. pctechguru

    pctechguru

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    Messages:
    53
    You can also try adding a DNS server manually like google 8.8.8.8 or Open DNS 208.67.220.220
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. Dcving
    Replies:
    39
    Views:
    2,046
  2. Nikiw
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    1,138
  3. G-Stress
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    473
  4. AMD2800
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    674
  5. Commotion
    Replies:
    15
    Views:
    836
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1055841