1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

DNS Lookup Error/Limited Connectivity

Discussion in 'Networking' started by blcampb, Nov 3, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. blcampb

    blcampb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    This is my first forum post and I'm not a computer expert by any means, so I hope I'm including all the necessary information.

    For the past several months, I've had a spotty wireless connection at home. There were times it worked and times it didn't. Now, it won't work at all. Each time I try to load a page, I get the page could not load because DNS lookup failed. I've tried all of the suggested fixes included in the error message. None worked. I've looked at multiple forums and tried everything from updating my drivers, to purging my cache, to switching wireless routers, to deleting AVG. Nothing has worked.

    My wife's computer and tv are both connected wirelessly to same network with no problems, and my computer connection works fine at work. There just seems to be a problem with my computer and the home network. After running the ipconfig /all, it appears to my uninformed mind that the problem is there is no default gateway? Problem occurs when using either Chrome or IE. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

    Specs:
    Dell Inspirion 1545
    Vista 64bit
    Service Pack 2
    Was running AVG (about to reload)
    Firewall Disabled
    WPA security


    ipconfig /all:

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : BLC-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Dell Wireless 1397 WLAN Mini-Card
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-22-5F-8E-02-3B
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::4cf2:4a81:ab52:da56%12(Preferred)
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.218.86(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8040 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-23-AE-31-73-59
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{E41DAA87-253E-494B-80C6-4EDC7F9AA6AD}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{F98CC25B-C91A-4BF4-A0BE-093F1902DFB5}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes


    Ping Tests: (unable to complete first test as no gateway noted above)

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6001]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\BLC>ping google.com
    Ping request could not find host google.com. Please check the name and try again
    .

    C:\Users\BLC>ping 209.183.226.152

    Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
    PING: transmit failed, error code 1231.
    PING: transmit failed, error code 1231.
    PING: transmit failed, error code 1231.
    PING: transmit failed, error code 1231.

    Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Users\BLC>
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,904
    First Name:
    Terry
    Make sure you have the latest wireless driver from Dell's web site.

    Can you connect successfully by ethernet?

    Disable encryption on the router and try to connect. If successful you can probably re-enable encryption and reconnect.

    Run these repairs before trying the above procedure with encryption ...

    (From a JohnWill post)

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or 7.

    Start - All Programs - Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  3. blcampb

    blcampb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    I do have the latest driver, and I am able to connect via ethernet. I'll try the repairs this evening. Thanks. How do I disable encryption? Via the router's address?
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,904
    First Name:
    Terry
    Set the Encryption (or Security) Mode to 'none' or 'off' or similar.
     
  5. blcampb

    blcampb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Tried it all. Worked fine over the weekend, and then right back to DNS lookup error.
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,904
    First Name:
    Terry
    Because of a lack of connection again, or is it something different now? In case I'm not being clear, the IPv4 address 169.254.x.y (as you showed in your initial post) means that you are not connected--at least not in any meaningful way that allows any communication between computer and router.
     
  7. blcampb

    blcampb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Yes, because of lack of connection. I'm back at work now, and computer is connection to wireless network here with no problems.

    I did a complete reset on my home wireless router and thought that took care of it, but I guess I was wrong.
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,904
    First Name:
    Terry
    You may have to do the encryption dance again to regain a connection. (I assume that's what got you going a few days ago.)

    Please attach a screen shot of the Networks page of the Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector. Best if you can show this when your wireless connection is working fine and again just after you encounter a problem.
     
  9. blcampb

    blcampb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    I'll see what I can do. Thanks.
     
  10. blcampb

    blcampb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Here's a screenshot while working and while not. Let me know what you think. It appears lately that I can simply reset the router and get a signal. Really don't want to have to do this every day though.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. dpl

    dpl

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    use automatic ip addressing. You have static wlan ip.
     
  12. dpl

    dpl

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    sorry i did not see dhcp enabled. What you need to do is to remove your previous access points list and try reconnecting to available access points. You must have changed security keys and it is connecting automatically with the wrong key
     
  13. blcampb

    blcampb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    I'll give it a shot
     
  14. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,904
    First Name:
    Terry
    It appears to me that the adapter or the router is defective or, given other evidence, this is one of those rare cases of a particular adapter and particular router refusing to play nice together.

    I noticed at the very beginning of the signal history in the "not working" screen shot the strength was down in the danger area, maybe was worse than -70 dBm before Xirrus was launched. If the signal strength was really that low (maybe you were moving the laptop) it could explain the disconnect, but normally the adapter would automatically reconnect when the strength improved.
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1025264

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice