1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

DNS Not Working, IPV4 IPV6 Not Connected.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Sythillium, Jan 11, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Sythillium

    Sythillium Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Ok, this problem has persisted for a major time now, and has quite frankly gotten me absolutely annoyed . I've tried just about everything, from using the netsh commands to changing the dns to 8.8.8.8 or that other one or the other. Nothing is working, I unplugged the router, problem persists, I disabled IPV6 problem persists, I restore, problem persists. The only clue I have is my router, and mysteriously, there are TWO of my computer on it. It might be nothing but most certainly has caught my attention. Also, it gives me this info about my media being disconnected

    Can anyone help this poor soul?
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    I have edited your post - as this is a family friendly site

    and both pcs do not work at all or connect -correct

    make and model of the router - whats the status of the lights on the route r?
     
  3. Sythillium

    Sythillium Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    By two computers on it I literally mean there is a dupe of my single laptop on the router. All the lights are fine, I think I should mention that every other device on this router works with wifi. Its just my laptop.
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    lets see an ipconfig /all and an xirrus screen shot
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    This should also work for windows 8
    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and install the program.
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    Direct link to the program is here http://info.xirrus.com/Wi-FiInspectorConfirmation.html

    {If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.
    On windows 8 - (i do not have windows 8) but, it would appear that, When you first try to run, you may get a message that .net framework is needed, and included in that message is a link to download/install.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/cdn/pdf/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-inspectorguide-1-2-1-RevB-6.aspx

    post a screen shot of the program running.
    if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

    post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)

    To post a screen shot of the active window.
    1) hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    OR
    2) if you are using Vista/Windows 7 you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
    note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

    If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/

    if you want to optimise base station position and signal strength / dead spots use
    http://www.chimoosoft.com/products/apgrapher/ which has a graph function to monitor signal
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. Sythillium

    Sythillium Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Ok I am currently getting a screenshot, for now, here is the IPCONFIG /ALL
    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : TehUbernator
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : mshome.net

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Anchorfree HSS VPN Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-FF-76-03-74-DD
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Centrino(R) WiMAX 6150
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 64-D4-DA-61-7F-C5
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 3:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 40-25-C2-6C-6E-25
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 40-25-C2-6C-6E-25
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : gateway.2wire.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Centrino(R) Wireless-N 6150
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 40-25-C2-6C-6E-24
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::1b3:45bf:a867:b230%12(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.70(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, January 11, 2013 3:30:05 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, January 13, 2013 4:05:59 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 322971074
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-16-23-AD-BF-F0-DE-F1-95-74-06
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::e0fd:cc2b:ca85:b536%12
    192.168.1.254
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix Search List :
    mshome.net

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : gateway.2wire.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : F0-DE-F1-95-74-06
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Hamachi:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Hamachi Network Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 7A-79-19-03-6A-42
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2620:9b::1903:6a42(Preferred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::cca:276:db56:6c75%17(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 25.3.106.66(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.0.0.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, January 11, 2013 3:29:37 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, January 12, 2014 4:06:17 AM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 2620:9b::1900:1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 25.0.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 612006184
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-16-23-AD-BF-F0-DE-F1-95-74-06
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.gateway.2wire.net:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : gateway.2wire.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{1F82C479-12EA-4144-B3A0-3054AF3F15F7}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #4
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{760374DD-F35F-4699-980C-F6EF4A23912A}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #8
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  6. Sythillium

    Sythillium Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Here is the screenie
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    34,980
    First Name:
    James
    Most likely the router is showing both ipv4 and ipv6 connectivity. You haven't really stated what's going on... Dns failed can mean a couple of things... In command prompt use the PING GOOGLE.COM and PING 8.8.8.8 commands and tell us if they failed. If both did, ping your gateway PING 192.168.1.254
     
  8. Sythillium

    Sythillium Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Ok so all of those Ping commands work, whats going on is I have had a ongoing problem with limited connectivity that started randomly one day. I just really dont know whats going on, I spent a couple days looking around forums to find a solution, but none so far have worked.
     
  9. Sythillium

    Sythillium Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    And at the root of this limited connectivity, it states my DNS is not connecting.
    When I troubleshoot atleast.
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you DNS settings are not showing google open dns
    have you changed back

    if you connect to the router with a cable - does it still disconnect?

    whats the make and model of the PC - have you updated the driver - You need to actually download and install the driver - NOT just update

    also do

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Uninstall and allow windows to re-install the adapter and Driver
    goto the device manager > Network Adapters > click on the [+] to show all the adapters

    right click on the adapter and from the menu

    remove/uninstall the adapter

    Now restart the pc and allow windows to detect new hardware and re install the adapter and the driver
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  11. Sythillium

    Sythillium Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    I have switched back, my model is a 2WIRE UVERSE Router, when I connect through cable it still malfunctions, I will now reinstall.
     
  12. Sythillium

    Sythillium Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Reinstalled drivers to no avail.
    It still says the IPV4 and IPV6 are not connected on my wireless network status. something I just noticed is that says the network is UnKnown.
     
  13. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, Mcafee , AVG , Webroot etc

    with a cable connected to the router
    - try safemode with networking
    as the PC starts keep tapping F8 - a menu appears - choose
    safemode with networking - see if that works
     
  14. Sythillium

    Sythillium Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    I have had norton, and now currently use Avast! Free Anti Virus. I use Norton Power Eraser from time to time, because its free. I will try doing the safe mode networking when I get back from going out.
     
  15. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    use the removal tool to get rid of norton, uninstalling is often not enough

    --------------------------------------------------------------

    Norton Removal Tool
    I would recommend that you restart the PC and run the removal tool for a second time - I have found instances where the removal tool needs to be run twice to fully remove all traces of norton and symantec from the PC
    https://www-secure.symantec.com/nor...t=Norton Core&pvid=f-core-cur&version=current

    All Versions - The Norton Removal Tool uninstalls all Norton 2010/2009/2008/2007/2006/2005/2004/2003 products, Norton 360 and Norton SystemWorks 12.0 from your computer.
    http://majorgeeks.com/Norton_Removal_Tool_SymNRT_d4749.html

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1084767

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice