DNS Not Working, IPV4 IPV6 Not Connected.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Sythillium

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 11, 2013
Messages
10
Ok, this problem has persisted for a major time now, and has quite frankly gotten me absolutely annoyed . I've tried just about everything, from using the netsh commands to changing the dns to 8.8.8.8 or that other one or the other. Nothing is working, I unplugged the router, problem persists, I disabled IPV6 problem persists, I restore, problem persists. The only clue I have is my router, and mysteriously, there are TWO of my computer on it. It might be nothing but most certainly has caught my attention. Also, it gives me this info about my media being disconnected

Can anyone help this poor soul?
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,486
I have edited your post - as this is a family friendly site

there are TWO of my computer on it
and both pcs do not work at all or connect -correct

make and model of the router - whats the status of the lights on the route r?
 

Sythillium

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 11, 2013
Messages
10
By two computers on it I literally mean there is a dupe of my single laptop on the router. All the lights are fine, I think I should mention that every other device on this router works with wifi. Its just my laptop.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,486
lets see an ipconfig /all and an xirrus screen shot
------------------------------------------------------------------------
ipconfig /all
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

This should also work for windows 8
Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box
(A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
to do that:
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
all the text will now be highlighted
Next
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
------------------------------------------------------------------------

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
Download and install

If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and install the program.
You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
Direct link to the program is here http://info.xirrus.com/Wi-FiInspectorConfirmation.html

{If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
if you get an error - You need will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.
On windows 8 - (i do not have windows 8) but, it would appear that, When you first try to run, you may get a message that .net framework is needed, and included in that message is a link to download/install.

Run the program

A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/cdn/pdf/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-inspectorguide-1-2-1-RevB-6.aspx

post a screen shot of the program running.
if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)

To post a screen shot of the active window.
1) hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
OR
2) if you are using Vista/Windows 7 you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

Note:
For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/

if you want to optimise base station position and signal strength / dead spots use
http://www.chimoosoft.com/products/apgrapher/ which has a graph function to monitor signal
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

Sythillium

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 11, 2013
Messages
10
Ok I am currently getting a screenshot, for now, here is the IPCONFIG /ALL
Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : TehUbernator
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : mshome.net

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Anchorfree HSS VPN Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-FF-76-03-74-DD
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Centrino(R) WiMAX 6150
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 64-D4-DA-61-7F-C5
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 3:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 40-25-C2-6C-6E-25
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 40-25-C2-6C-6E-25
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : gateway.2wire.net
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Centrino(R) Wireless-N 6150
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 40-25-C2-6C-6E-24
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::1b3:45bf:a867:b230%12(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.70(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, January 11, 2013 3:30:05 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, January 13, 2013 4:05:59 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 322971074
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-16-23-AD-BF-F0-DE-F1-95-74-06
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::e0fd:cc2b:ca85:b536%12
192.168.1.254
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
Connection-specific DNS Suffix Search List :
mshome.net

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : gateway.2wire.net
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : F0-DE-F1-95-74-06
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter Hamachi:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Hamachi Network Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 7A-79-19-03-6A-42
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2620:9b::1903:6a42(Preferred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::cca:276:db56:6c75%17(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 25.3.106.66(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.0.0.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, January 11, 2013 3:29:37 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, January 12, 2014 4:06:17 AM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 2620:9b::1900:1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 25.0.0.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 612006184
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-16-23-AD-BF-F0-DE-F1-95-74-06
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter isatap.gateway.2wire.net:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : gateway.2wire.net
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.{1F82C479-12EA-4144-B3A0-3054AF3F15F7}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #4
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.{760374DD-F35F-4699-980C-F6EF4A23912A}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #8
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
40,219
By two computers on it I literally mean there is a dupe of my single laptop on the router. All the lights are fine, I think I should mention that every other device on this router works with wifi. Its just my laptop.
Most likely the router is showing both ipv4 and ipv6 connectivity. You haven't really stated what's going on... Dns failed can mean a couple of things... In command prompt use the PING GOOGLE.COM and PING 8.8.8.8 commands and tell us if they failed. If both did, ping your gateway PING 192.168.1.254
 

Sythillium

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 11, 2013
Messages
10
Ok so all of those Ping commands work, whats going on is I have had a ongoing problem with limited connectivity that started randomly one day. I just really dont know whats going on, I spent a couple days looking around forums to find a solution, but none so far have worked.
 

Sythillium

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 11, 2013
Messages
10
And at the root of this limited connectivity, it states my DNS is not connecting.
When I troubleshoot atleast.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,486
you DNS settings are not showing google open dns
to changing the dns to 8.8.8.8 or that other one or the other.
have you changed back

if you connect to the router with a cable - does it still disconnect?

whats the make and model of the PC - have you updated the driver - You need to actually download and install the driver - NOT just update

also do

------------------------------------------------------------------------

Uninstall and allow windows to re-install the adapter and Driver
goto the device manager > Network Adapters > click on the [+] to show all the adapters

right click on the adapter and from the menu

remove/uninstall the adapter

Now restart the pc and allow windows to detect new hardware and re install the adapter and the driver
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

Sythillium

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 11, 2013
Messages
10
I have switched back, my model is a 2WIRE UVERSE Router, when I connect through cable it still malfunctions, I will now reinstall.
 

Sythillium

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 11, 2013
Messages
10
Reinstalled drivers to no avail.
It still says the IPV4 and IPV6 are not connected on my wireless network status. something I just noticed is that says the network is UnKnown.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,486
What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, Mcafee , AVG , Webroot etc

with a cable connected to the router
- try safemode with networking
as the PC starts keep tapping F8 - a menu appears - choose
safemode with networking - see if that works
 

Sythillium

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 11, 2013
Messages
10
I have had norton, and now currently use Avast! Free Anti Virus. I use Norton Power Eraser from time to time, because its free. I will try doing the safe mode networking when I get back from going out.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,486
I have had norton
use the removal tool to get rid of norton, uninstalling is often not enough

--------------------------------------------------------------

Norton Removal Tool
I would recommend that you restart the PC and run the removal tool for a second time - I have found instances where the removal tool needs to be run twice to fully remove all traces of norton and symantec from the PC
https://www-secure.symantec.com/nor...t=Norton Core&pvid=f-core-cur&version=current

All Versions - The Norton Removal Tool uninstalls all Norton 2010/2009/2008/2007/2006/2005/2004/2003 products, Norton 360 and Norton SystemWorks 12.0 from your computer.
http://majorgeeks.com/Norton_Removal_Tool_SymNRT_d4749.html

--------------------------------------------------------------
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top