1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

DNS problem.

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by Ainsley, Jan 17, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Ainsley

    Ainsley Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    My DNS has decided it doesn't want to update.

    I've flushed it, restarted my router and PC. I'm quite clueless now... my friend who owns the website I'm trying to access says he is moving hosts in a few days but I can't wait days anymore, I've waited about a week, but my DNS is quite sure it's not changing.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can you explain a little further

    The DNS is the relationship with IP and Name and held across the internet on various DNS servers
    is this what we are talking about - your Website and DNS lookup ? - which normally takes upto 48Hours to populate across all servers

    OR
    something else
     
  3. Ainsley

    Ainsley Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Exactly what you said - exactly what I said...


    I have given it way over 48 hours and still no sign of change.
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    it my be a problem with the dns servers on your internet connection
    you could try open DNS such as google
    this link tells you the server IP and how to use them on your PC

    post the address and what we would expect to see and i can go there and see if its OK from a UK IP address
     
  5. Ainsley

    Ainsley Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    www.tryhabboforum.net

    Normal VBulletin that doesn't say:

    Oops! We are sorry for the downtime!


    I'm on a UK IP - and I went on from my schools IP today, and it worked fine, and many other users can access it as well, it just seems from my IP it won't let me view it since they moved name servers.
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    is that with the same PC ?

    from your home setup try the open dns

    also if on IE - use either Shift key and refresh or Cntrl key and refresh - that will clear the cache on IE

    it works fine for me
     
  7. Ainsley

    Ainsley Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    It was from a completely different PC on a different network all together.

    And do you fancy helping us with this 'open dns' as I've never used it or heard of it before.
     
  8. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
  9. Ainsley

    Ainsley Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    The proxy doesn't seem to be working for me.. Error - Timeout

    I've gone onto hidemyass and it does work.

    I've cleared my cookies, how do I clear my cache on Chrome?
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Yes no problem - but it will be through the posts here

    what you do is setup the DNS Ip address in your Router OR on the PCs
    by default you are using the DNS IP of the ISP you use and the settings in the router and on the PC
    I would suggest you do it on one PC as a trial

    the server IP address are
    8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4
    now we need to enter those numbers into the network connection you use on the PC
    and this link from google
    http://code.google.com/speed/public-dns/docs/using.html
    shows you how to setup in various versions of windows & mac

    try the control /shift refresh - that has worked for me in the past as well -
    also deleting internet temp files may help
     
  11. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
  12. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    With no luck with DNS settings, Hotspot Shield works good in these situations.
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/975225

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice